Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 20

Chapter 20 The Hero’s Summer Camp 2

“Hey, what’s happening?”

 With the president at the side discussing the matter of the training camp, a question came from Akane, who sat next to me.

“Are you surprised?”

“Isn’t it obvious? You didn’t say a word about it.”

“I got my driver’s license a while ago, and my bike got delivered last week, so I thought it was time to join Yuuya’s circle.”

“……By any chance, is that 400X that was left on the bike parking lot yours, Akane?”

“Hehehe~. I bought it♪.”

 Akane giggled, looking truly happy.

 Damn, I can’t even complain when you look at me like that.

“But I’m surprised your father allowed it.”

 Akane’s dad is very protective of his daughter. To the unhealthy degree.

 It’s also because Akane didn’t seem to have many rebellious moments, so he is very doting on her.

 Akane has a younger brother who is now a high school student, but he seems to treat Akane’s younger brother rather appropriately.

 And, as usual, his hostility towards the opposite sex that approaches Akane is extraordinary.

 I suspect that this is the reason why Akane did not have a boyfriend in junior high school and high school. In fact, when I went to Akane’s house to teach her to study for her exams (I actually did better than her), he made me drink unsweetened soda with soy sauce, calling it a “Cola”. Afterwards, Akane and her mother closed the door on him.

 I never thought that such an old man would allow Akane to have a motorcycle.

 Well, you see, people of that age group are convinced that motorcycles = danger, right?

 Even in my case, my mom was against it at first. Well, in my mom’s case, it’s probably because she’s seen a lot of injured people in the hospital from motorcycle accidents.

“You know, actually, my mom and dad used to ride bikes, and that’s how they met.”

“Really?”

“Apparently they stopped riding when she conceived me, though”

“That was unexpected.  You were always saying to me that “there’s no such thing as a good guy who rides a motorcycle’.”

“That’s …… I think I just wanted to complain about whatever it was.”

 We were having such a conversation, and the next thing I knew, the president was done talking and all the circle members were looking at us.

“Hey, hey. I know you’re good friends, but I think you should listen to the conversation~”

 Okazaki-senpai from the 3rd year says with a really dirty grin.

 She looks like a beautiful senior if she doesn’t talk, but inside she is a complete old man, moreover, a shitty old man from the Showa era, so nothing good happens if you associate with her.

“Ah.”

“I’m sorry.”

 Akane’s face turns bright red and becomes small.

 I’m very bummed out too.

 Almost everyone except Kanzaki-senpai is smirking and laughing.

 Shit! They’re definitely going to make fun of me later.

“Well, whatever. Check the route, schedule, and accommodations on the paper you’ve just been handed, and on the 23rd, meet me in front of the main entrance of the university by 7:00 A.M. If there is nothing else, we will disperse for the day.”

 With that, Kanzaki-senpai closed the meeting.

“Also, Kashiwagi, explain the details of the training camp and preparations to Kudo.”

“Yes.”

 I stood up from my seat and replied.

 Then Akio came up to me while grinning.

 He’s intent on making fun of me. So, I decided to take the initiative.

“Ah, Akio-senpai! You said the other day that you were going to buy shares of Orient Corporation for its shareholder benefit, but did you end up buying it?” (TL : Search オリエント工 in google image if you are interested)

“What? Whoa, wait a minute! I’ll never do that!”

“Oh! Was it bad for me to mention it? Well, that’ s true, isn’t it? I’m sorry!”

 Akio senpai gets flustered to an amusing degree by my words.

 About 30% of the people in the club room are going “Hee~?” and grinned, while 30% looked at Akio-senpai with scornful eyes.

 The other 40% of those who were not understanding the meaning of what they were saying(Excluding Akane) started to grow cold as they heard the details of Orient Industry from those who were grinning.

“You are so merciless!”

 Okazaki-senpai says to me as if she was dumbfounded.

 What are you saying? If I don’t attack him before he attacks me, I’ll just become a target.

 Let’s make Akio-senpai the scapegoat and leave quickly.

 I urge Akane to leave the club room.

“Wait a minute! Kashiwagi-kun, that’s not true!”

 I thought I heard something behind me, but it was probably just my imagination. Yeah.

 When we returned to the bike parking lot, Akane and I continued to talk while bringing out our own bikes.

“And by the way, when did you get your license?”

“I got it about two months ago. I went to the driving school itself for about two months.”

“What took you so long? You couldn’t find time to go?”

“Uhh! …… I fell all over the place on the log bridge and slalom part ……”(TL : I don’t know if that’s the right word)

 Are you sure this guy is going to be able to handle a long touring trip like this all of a sudden?

 I’m anxious.

 Still, seeing Akane looking at her bike happily reminds me of when I got my first bike back in the day.

“That’s a new 400X, right? It is amazing that you had that much money. I am envious.”

“At first I was going to buy a second-hand bike identical to Yuuya’s, but my dad said, ‘You can’t buy a bike that hasn’t been inspected and doesn’t know who’s the previous owner’. And then he gave me money for it. I had to fork out a little too, though.”

“Oh, I see. That sounds like your father.”

“I’m still not used to it, so it’s a little scary.”

“Are you seriously going to training camp out of the blue like that?”

“I mean …….”

 Akane seems to be a little dejected with a frustrated look on her face.

 It can’t be helped.

 I am weak to this expression on this guy’s face.

“There are still a few days until the training camp, so why don’t you do a little medium-distance touring with me? You haven’t gotten used to it yet anyway, have you?”

“Are you sure?”

 Immediately, Akane’s expression brightened, and she came over to me.

“Oh, oh.”

 I flinch a bit at Akane’s vigor. It’s scary.

 I’m going to arrange a schedule with Akane that includes shopping for and preparing the necessary items.

 I’m sure we’ll be quite busy, since we have to get various things in order.

 The summer vacation finally started with the release of the results of the first semester exams.

 How was the result, you ask?

 I did my best, okay? Yeah, I did my best!

 I’ve got quite a few more assignments to do over the holidays, but yeah, it’ s okay, you know?

 …… Well, the results are as you can imagine. Yes.

 I mean, there’s no way I’m going to be able to do that after three years of absence!

 All that economic theory and economic history is falling out of my brain.

 I studied as hard as I could, but I couldn’t study the whole subject.

 Well, thanks to the ‘Language Comprehension’ I got in another world, I was able to pass the foreign language exam easily.

 Anyway, I’ll think about the future after the vacation.

 This is my long awaited summer vacation in university. What can I do if I don’t enjoy it in the present?

 People call it escaping reality.


 Therefore, the circle training camp starts today.

 Since then, I’ve been going along with Akane on her excursions, giving her advice on touring, and going out to buy the necessary items while explaining to her what we needed, and we were able to complete our preparations.

 I’ve now met up with Akane and we’ve arrived at the meeting place.

 The members are gradually gathering.

 Incidentally, President Kanzaki was the first to arrive, as expected.

 He was in the center of the meeting place with his arms crossed and did not move even slightly. He was like a statue.

 I wanted to poke him, but I didn’t do it. It’s scary.

 The training camp this time is a total of ten days long touring, moving first to the Nagano area and staying at Azumino, and then the next day to Akita through the Sea of Japan side, the fourth day is a rest day along the coast of Akita, and then the eighth day rest day at Lake Inawashiro via Aomori, Iwate, and Miyagi, and then return while passing through the mountainous area. 

 We are a rather loose circle to begin with, so although we call it a training camp, we have a fairly relaxed schedule.

 Rather, it was more like riding a motorcycle around on a sightseeing tour, with only the general route and places to stay being decided.

 It’s 99% just for fun.

 There are a total of 12 circle members, so we are divided into three groups of four people each.

 Since there are three third-year members, they will be assigned as leaders of the respective groups.

 Incidentally, the leader of our group is Akio-senpai, and the rest are me, Akane and Kubo Yuka-san, a freshman. The fact that Akane and I are together seems to be intentional, but I’m worried about Akane too, so it’s okay.

 I think I’ve mentioned it before, Akio-senpai is riding a DUCATI Streetfighter 848, Kubo is riding a TRIUMPH Bonneville 790, Akane is riding a Honda 400X and I am riding a Honda CB250F.

 I just realized that I’m the only one in this group with less than 250cc engine!

 Damn it! Bourgeoisie.

 In the meantime, it seems that all the circle members have gathered.

 Akio-senpai, who had made a final confirmation with the president and Okazaki-senpai, came to us.

“Everyone please assemble. Ah~! Kashiwagi-kun, what have you done the other day! It was hard to clear up the misunderstanding after that!”

“Now, what is this all about?”

“Why do you have to be speaking in a weird dialect all of a sudden?”

“Forget that, let’s review today’s route.”

“Stop flushing it so lightly! I’m going to cry, you know?”

 Kubo-san and Akane look at me and Akio-senpai’s light-hearted exchange of words with a slightly dumbfounded look.

 It’s our usual communication, what is it?

“Is he always like that?”

“Akio-senpai and Kashiwagi-senpai you mean? That’s right. Especially these last few days.”

 It looks like Akane and Kubo-san have opened up to each other, so that’s good.

 As intended! …… It’s a coincidence, though.

 While I was doing that, the other group started to depart.

“Oh no! We’ll take Route 299 through Chichibu for now, so take that route. Don’t be in a hurry, I’ll try to meet you ahead if we get separated at the traffic lights. Kashiwagi, follow up with Kudo-san. Kubo-san, keep an eye out for the rest of the group. Well then, let’s get going soon.”

“Yup.”

“Yes, sir.”

“Roger that.”

 We each responded and put on our helmets and straddled our bikes.

 It’s a good thing the weather is good today, but everyone is already sweating.

 As a rule of the circle, or rather of motorcyclists, when riding outside of the urban area, even in the middle of summer, you must wear thick, long-sleeved, long pants.

 This is because in the case of motorcycles, no matter how skilled you are, there is a possibility of a fall, and if you do fall, you don’t want to hurt yourself more than necessary. Some people even wear leather tunics in the near 40 degree heat.

 I wouldn’t go that far, but the circle members are all dressed in clothing that you wouldn’t expect to find in the middle of summer. Of course, Akane has been properly informed of this, so there’s no problem.

 It was unavoidably hot until we passed through the city, but once we started speeding up, it started to get a little better.

 Akio-senpai starts his bike after confirming that everyone is ready.

 Now! It’s the start of touring circle training camp.

11 thoughts on “Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 20

  1. Thanks for the chapter, but I’ve got a question.

    Does anything remotely interesting happen in this series.

    It started off interesting, but it’s becoming far too dull and uneventful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know too.
      After all I only read the chapters I’ve translated.
      I want to read ahead, but if I do that there’s possibility that I’ll lose motivation when translating it so I held back

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started