Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 19

Chapter 19 The Hero’s Summer Camp 1

 It’s dark.

 It’s hot and suffocating.

 My consciousness is clear.

 It’s not that my body can’t move.

 But, I can’t get out of this place.

 How long am I going to be like this?

 Is it because I am weak that I think I would rather disappear?

 I’m not sure if I can win this battle, even though I’ve fought many battles in other worlds.

 I feel like my heart is breaking.

 Even though I know that I can’t go on like this.

 But I can’t seem to shake this darkness off.

 I wish I could just go crazy.

 Knock, knock.

 There’s someone knocking on the door.

“Come on, brother, wake up already.

 It’s Ayumi’s voice.

”Uii~……”

 I slid off the futon that was covering me up to my head and flung it away.

 I’m not sure if she heard me or not, but Ayumi’s presence is moving away.

 I’m depressed. I don’t want to leave.

 My tension is at an all-time low.

 Huh? What was that questionable opening statement earlier, you ask?

 It’s the feeling, the feeling!

………… dark past is painful, isn’t it?

 As you can imagine, I’m in this state of mind because of my cosplay during last week’s museum attack.

 It’s been a week since that incident.

 When I returned home after that incident, I realized my bike was still at Saito’s house and rushed back to retrieve it. At that moment, I contacted Ayumi and Akane and was relieved to confirm that they were safe.

 I felt like this was finally over, but I was naïve. Or rather, I was ‘too naïve’.

 The media, starved for entertainment, would never leave such a delicious case unattended, and day after day, from morning to night, they broadcast, in a frenzy, from self-proclaimed experts to comedians, all over the country, about the incident, and especially about the mysterious person who appeared out of nowhere, beat up the terrorists and disappeared.

 Of course, there is no way to get to the bottom of the matter, and they are free to say whatever they want. The testimonies of the people who are said to have witnessed the incident are especially horrible: “A shiny object flew from the top of Mt. Fuji to Ueno at a high speed,” or “A black object flew over the water’s edge near the boat and disappeared again,” or “A Kappa appeared in the Shinobazu Pond”. Most of them say, ‘what the hell is that?’. To begin with, the guys fishing in the boat are probably just seeing a flying fish.

 And on top of it all, I heard there were even fakes. It’s something.

 In addition, adding to the uproar is that guy, the ambassador of Country I, who was being held hostage at the time of the attack.

 That ambassador held a press conference right after the incident, and although he only commented on the terrorist attack itself for 2 minutes, he talked passionately for more than 20 minutes about how great or how wonderful was this mysterious (to them) person.

 It was so passionate; it was like listening to Sh*zo Matsuoka talking about Kei Nis*ikori.

 The ambassador who speaks very fluent Japanese, is treated like a celebrity at the moment and appears on TV every day. I wonder if he is doing his job properly as an ambassador.

 However, although he is fluent, he ends his speech with some strange words and uses some strange expressions, so he probably learned Japanese from Japanese anime.

 Country I is supposed to be a religious country, is he alright?

 He’s been introduced as a highly respected Japanese expert in the Middle East, but it’s a different story if you can be understood or not, you know? (TL : I’m not sure about this part)

 Anyway, that’s why every time I turned on the TV, the footage of that event was repeated, and in addition, it was broadcasted in clear digital format.

 At that time, a good number of journalists who had come to cover the ceremony had captured me in my cosplay on camera.

 I was so careless. I should have thrown a lightning bolt at them in the middle of that mess.

 I don’t mean to sound obstinate, but my dark past is repeated day after day, and it’s already being played over and over again.

 You may think, ‘Can you just not watch TV’? 

 Basically, my family leave the TV on when there are people in the living room.

 But it’s too unnatural to turn off the TV only when that news appears, and since my mother wants to enjoy our family’s time together, I can’t just stay in my room because it would make her worry.

 As a result, I have no choice but to watch TV, with my life-point reduced to a negative value, while trying not to show it on my face as much as possible.

 And, every time I watch it, I think to myself.

 What was wrong with me at that time! This is not me!

 Why did I just decide to flip my coat and turn after defeating the terrorist? I’ve been snapping my fingers to turn off ‘barriers’ and all that, but did I ever do that? I mean, I don’t need to make that move, do I? Also, isn’t that an unnecessarily flashy move?

 Is there something wrong with me? What am I trying to do?!

Aaaaaaaaa~~~~

 If there’s a hole I want to be put in, not that, I want to get in. No, I’d rather be buried. And I’d like to hide out for two-and-a-half months, to be more specific.

 Kok*yo-san, please develop a “eraser” that can erase dark past. Even if it costs more than 100,000 yen, I’ll buy it, so please do me a favor.

 There’s no point in dwelling on it, but I have a circle meeting this afternoon.

 I decide to push my spirit and get moving.

 I leave my room and go downstairs to the living room.

 Ayumi is relaxing in the living room, eating potato chips.

 Come to think of it, did she say it was an exam break or something?

 Fortunately, the TV seemed to be showing a drama or something instead of a news program, showing a scene of a stern, stocky old man with a bearded skinhead and a topless upper body holding a pipe chair and rampaging around inside a mansion somewhere.

“Hey, brother. Good morning. I left some food for you.”

“Morning”.

 I heat up the food that was left in the kitchen as I reply.

 Even as I prepare the food, I talk to Ayumi.

“A drama? That?”

“Hmm. It’s a rerun of ”Muta the Housekeeper ”. A retired professional wrestler is sent as a super housekeeper to a place where he gets into all kinds of trouble. You can’t miss the pipe chair, which is always available in every mansion, and the poisonous fog he spits in a pinch.”

“What with that?”

 There are so many things to be said about it that I don’t know what to say.

“It’s currently season four.”

“It’s still going on!”

 Let’s stop nitpicking any more. But I wonder if the copyright is alright.

 As I finish preparing the meal and start eating, Ayumi sits down in front of me while changing the channels, apparently the drama has ended.

 Unfortunately, what is being shown on the screen is the footage of “The Case”.

 I try to avoid watching TV as much as possible and scoop up some food.

“I’m pretty sure I can see you in this costume, brother.”

 Since then, Ayumi seems to suspect me and asks me that every time there’s a chance.

“I’ve told you many times. I was at Saito’s house when it happened. I found out about the incident on the TV, but there was no way I was going to make it in time! Besides, there’s no way I can fly or use magic, right?”

 I say the same answer as usual, taking care to keep my inner thoughts from showing on my face as much as possible.

“’U~, it’s true that my brother won’t become a wizard for another 10 years, but…”

“Wait a minute! I firmly object to that line just now!”

 Why does she talk about me like I’m a confirmed DT for the next 10 years?

 No matter how you think about it, it’s impossible……right?

“…… Well, even for you, brother, you wouldn’t come to a museum wearing an embarrassing outfit like this.”

 Crunch!

“Especially not in that pose.”

 Gasp!

“I’m pretty sure that guy in there has a very smug smile on his face.”

 Thud!

 …… Ayumi-san, I think it’s about time you forgave me. ……

 I manage to cover up the potentially fatal (mental) damage and shift to another topic.

“I know I’ve said this before, but I’ve got a circle training camp starting next week, so please take care of the house.”

“Now that you mention it, you do, aren’t you? For how long?”

“Ten days from the 23rd.”

“It’s nice to be a college student. Sounds like fun.”

 Well, I’m looking forward to it too.

 Unlike the serious sports club, the club I’m in has a relaxed training camp such as touring long-distance on bikes.

“I see, so that’s why Akane-san was so excited…”

“Do you say something?”

 That Ayumi was babbling something to herself, but I missed it.

“It’s nothing~. Good luck, bro.”

“? What are you talking about?”

“Oh, I should go to my club soon!”

 She deliberately tried to fool me, turned off the TV and left the living room.

 While I wondered about Ayumi’s attitude, it was time for me to get ready and leave the house.

 I arrived at the university and put my bike in the parking lot.

 There’s a brand new bike in the parking lot beside where I parked mine.

“Oh, 400X. This one’s good, too.”

 I couldn’t help but look at other people’s bikes as well.

 It was a Honda 400X. The coloring is the same red as mine, but this one is darker and bigger, and the body is shiny as new.

 Of course, I like my CB250F, but if I’m going to go for a long touring trip, I want one with bigger engine displacement.

 I’m a bit jealous of the fact that a college student can afford a new 400cc bike.

 Well, it’s not that I’m jealous.

 …… Shall I scratch it? ……

 Let’s get to the club room of the circle quickly because I’m about to fall into some dangerous thoughts.

 When I entered the clubroom, several people were already sitting in chairs and chatting.

 The president seems to have not yet arrived, but more than half of them had taken their seats, including Akio-senpai.

 And for some reason, Akane is there too.

 Why?

“Why is Akane here?”

 It’s true that Akane would occasionally come to visit the clubroom, but today is a meeting for the training camp. It’s strange to have an outsider in the room, and I don’t think Akane’s personality would keep her from sitting around brazenly.

“Is everyone here?”

 Before Akane can answer my question, President Kanzaki walks into the clubroom.

 Kanzaki Ryugo, the president of our touring club, is even larger than I am, estimated at around 190 centimeters and weighing more than 95 kilograms, with a stern expression like a former governor of California and a quiet, low, thick voice, his figure riding a Harley-Davidson XL883 is just like the commando or a terminator. Thanks to this, we are not treated lightly despite the fact that we are a rather loose circle.

 A few people entered the club room after the president, and with this all of us are present.

“First of all, as some of you may already realize, but Kudo from the Department of Education will be joining the circle starting today. Kudo will also be participating in the training camp starting next week.”

 And the chairman made a shocking statement.

 I couldn’t help but look at Akane.

 Akane was laughing at me with an expression that said ‘I did it’.

 …… How did this happen?

Translator’s Note :
Hi, I’m back. I’m still not bored with the game, but because I already finished leveling up, I can go back to translating like usual (1 chapter every 3 or 4 days).

I’ve checked the length of this arc. There are 9 chapters and it seems each chapter is a bit shorter than usual (this chapter only has around 2000 words when the previous one is over 3000 words), so there’s a possibility there will be more release per week for the current arc(I’m not making a promise, it still depends if I’m in the mood for translating).

18 thoughts on “Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 19

  1. “He’s been introduced as a highly respected Japanese expert in the Middle East, but it’s a different story if you can be understood or not, you know?”
    Imagine Arabian speaking Japanese language with “nano-desu/desu”

    Like

  2. So the country with start I is india, indonesia, iran, italy, iraq, israel, iceland, ireland.
    But since its involve middle-east, and mc said its religious country, its either iraq, iran or israel?

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started