Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 21

Chapter 21 The Hero’s Summer Camp 3

 There are four bikes, including mine, riding in a row, with the sound of engines reverberating.

 About 30 minutes into the ride, we pass through the city center and the surrounding area changes to a long, tranquil countryside landscape.

 At the same time, the wind that passes through my body becomes nice and cool.

 I think this feeling is unique to the motorcycle. In a car, you can’t feel this much wind even if you open all the windows, and on a bicycle, the sudden change in wind speed is so slow that you won’t be able to feel it. Well, maybe it’s different if you’re a competitive cyclist or something.

 I like the feeling of the wind going through my body the best.

 It feels good when my sweat-drenched clothes dry all at once.

 Although I will die if I ride my bike in the city in the middle of summer.

 We were led by Akio-senpai, followed by Akane, and then myself and Kubo-san.

 When touring with a group like this, the leader controls the overall route and pace, while the rearmost driver takes care of the rest of the group. Normally, I should be the last driver, but since I had to back up Akane, I left it to Kubo-san this time.

 Kubo-san has been riding bikes since her freshman year in high school, so her riding career is the same as mine, and her Bonneville 790 is well suited for the job.

 As expected, it’s the president’s initiative.

 I am paying attention to Akane, and although I’m still concerned when it comes to her line taking, for now, there is no problem with her stability, thanks to the practice. (TL : BTW what’s the English word for when you turn around a corner? Because English is not my native language, I don’t know the right word, so right now I’m just using the literal translation “Line Taking”)

 After passing through Chichibu, we entered the mountain road.

 About two hours after we left, Akio instructed us to stop at a convenience store on the way.

 I spoke to Akane after stretching a little.

“What do you think? Your first group touring experience?”

“Uhhhh, I might not have much leeway to enjoy it yet. But it feels good!”

“We just drove up to this point the other day, so it should be fine, right? But there’s a lot of corners ahead, so be careful with your Line taking! Especially for beginners, they tend to lean too close to the IN side of the right-hand corner, which can be dangerous if an oncoming car passes you.” 

“Yeah, I’ll be careful.”

 When I was talking to Akane about the precautions, Akio Senpai and Kubo-san, who seemed to have bought drinks, came back and handed me a cup of cold tea.

 Akio-senpai is really thoughtful, isn’t he? So why isn’t he popular?

“Kashiwagi-kun, are you thinking of bad things to say about me again?”

 Why does he know?

“Good job too, Kudo-san. You looked fine from the outside, but is there anything that’s bothering you?”

“Thank you, Akio-senpai. Speaking of which, I was wondering a little bit, but sometimes there are people on bikes who pass by and give a peace sign, what’s that?”

“Oh, that’s a common practice among people who have been riding motorcycles a long time ago, but in the old days it was normal for motorcyclists to give each other a greeting as they passed each other. So even now, there are still people who do that occasionally. I try to return the greetings when they do so.”

 I heard that everyone did it in my dad’s generation.

 It’s an interesting tradition, so I think it would be nice if people still did it.

 But it takes a bit of courage for me to do it. Because if someone ignored me, I would get depressed.

“Why don’t you try to return the greeting when you are more used to driving?”

“Yes. I’ll try.”

“Well, we’d better get going. Next, we’ll meet up with the other members at Tateshina for lunch, so it’s non-stop until then, but if you feel any discomfort or need to go to the restroom or anything else, give a signal immediately!”

“””Yes.”””

 The touring resumes with the words of Akio-senpai.

 I drove down the Märchen-Kaido (there’s really a Route 299 named after it) to Yachiho, where the curves are getting more and more steep.

 I kept my distance not to get too close to Akane as I rode my bike, mindful of her movements.

 As expected, I can see that the bike is too close to the center when she takes the right curve.

 Maybe I should stop and pay close attention.

 When I was thinking of giving a signal to Akio at the end of the climb, that’s when it happened.

 Just after Akio-senpai’s figure in front of me disappeared beyond the curve, a truck was coming around the bend, well beyond the centerline.

 Positionally, it will definitely collide with Akane’s line.

 As soon as I realized that Akane couldn’t take evasive action, I immediately deployed a ‘Barrier’ diagonally in front of the truck to force it to change course.

 At the same time, I reduced my gears and fully engaged the throttle.

 Furthermore, I added ‘Wind Magic’ and accelerated at once. I am lined up next to Akane.

 As expected, Akane is frozen, unable to understand the situation, but she is already entering a curve, and if she continues like this, she will not be able to turn the corner and plunge into it.

 It’s risky, but I have no choice but to be a little reckless.

 I move in close to Akane and with my left hand grab the 400X’s right handlebars along with Akane’s hand and force the bike to the right side of the car while opening the throttle.

 Using my arm strength and the accelerator action, I control the two bikes while holding Akane so that I can jump backwards at any time if the bike were to fall over.

 Damn it! It’s harder than I thought!

 It requires strength and dexterity for each side. What kind of juggling act is this!

 My status has helped my reflexes to up with my dynamic vision, but difficult things are difficult.

 Still, I manage to pull over to the left and stop when I come through the curve and into a straight line.

 Kakun!

 Oh, both of our engines have stalled… 

“Akane! Are you okay?”

 For now, I put my bike a little forward and pull over to the left and call out to Akane while getting off.

“Huh? Ah! Um, yes.”

“Try to get off the bike for once.”

“O, okay. Ow!”

 Akane, who got off the bike at my words, held her right hand.

 Oh, I must have hurt it because I gripped Akane’s right hand with quite a bit of force when operating the 400X.

“Let me see.”

 I say so and remove the glove on Akane’s right hand.

 The back of her hand is red and there is a slight swelling on her wrist.

 I quickly use my magic to diagnose it, and I find that the muscles and joints in her wrist are inflamed.

“It’s bad. I think I might have put a little too much pressure on it. Does it hurt?”

 I talk to Akane to distract her attention while applying ‘Healing’ so that she doesn’t find out.

“Oh, yeah. It hurt a little, but I’m much better now, so I’m fine.”

 When I take Akane’s hand and massage the reddened area(It looks like that from the side), I can see through the full-face helmet that Akane’s face is becoming red.  Or rather, even her neck is completely red.

 Umm, Akane-san, if you become that red, it makes me feel embarrassed too. ……

“Um~, senpai. It’s not good for you to be flirting in a place like this, could you please come back here by now~”

“Whoa!”

“Uhya!

 Akane and I jumped up at the voice of Kubo-san who suddenly called us.

 Come to think of it, there were others.

 It completely escaped my attention.

“Kashiwagi-kun. Do you mind if I hit you a few times?”

 Akio-senpai said something dangerous with a determined eye.

“Wa, Wait, your eyes are serious, Akio-senpai.”

 Akio-senpai, are you backed into a corner to that extent?

“Yes. Will you die once to quell this surging killing intent?”

“What’s the point of quelling a killing intent if you kill to quell it!”

 And so the usual banter began.

 Kubo-san looks at me and Akio-senpai as if she’s dumbfounded.

“W, well, I’m glad you didn’t crash.”

 Akio-senpai says as if he’s regained his composure.

“That’s right! You were amazing, Kashiwagi-senpai. How could you do something like that?”

“No, I just did it without thinking.  I can’t do it again if you ask me to!”

 I respond to Kubo-san’s praise with a bitter smile.

 In fact, I’m not going to do it again. It’s bad for my heart, and this time it worked because Akane was completely stunned and didn’t resist my actions, but I don’t have a shred of confidence that I’ll be able to do the same thing again.

 Also, this time it was my fault for not backing up on Akane, who was too close to the IN side.

 I’m really glad that we didn’t crash.

 When we’re having these conversations and trying to regroup.

“You! What are you going to do about it!”

 An ill-mannered-looking old man ran up to us while shouting like that.

 Who’s that? Huh?

 Perhaps sensing my doubts, Kubo-san told me.

“After he avoided you two, his truck ran into the side of the mountain and crashed.”

“Oh, I see.”

 It cleared up my doubts, but from my point of view, what I was thinking is ‘So what?’.

 Meanwhile, the guy comes up in front of us and grabs my chest, probably because I was in the very front, and yells out, 

“You little shit! I’m in the middle of a delivery. I hope you will take responsibility for it!”

“Ha?”

 What are you talking about, idiot?

“Huh? The idiot who drove badly and tried to crash someone in oncoming traffic and then blew himself up on his own is telling us what?”

 I’m sure the truck crashed because my ‘Barrier’ forced him to change direction, but of course I won’t say that. Or, rather, it’s none of my business.

 I gripped the old man’s wrist that was holding my chest with enough force to make his bones creak and sever his tendons. (TL : There’s possibly a miss translation in this sentence because I can’t seem to find the meaning of one word. This is the raw : 俺は胸ぐらを掴んだオッサンの手首を骨が軋む位の力で握りながらメンチを切る。)

 Yeah, he sounds like a ruffian. It’s kind of fun.

 The color of his face turned white in proportion to the purple color of his squeezed hand.

“Ughhh, no, I mean…”

 I don’t know what you’re talking about, so I’m going to let go of your hand.

“So? We almost crashed because of you, old man, there’s no way you are going to complain to us or anything, are you?”

 I hit him with a pinpoint killing intent filled with anger because Akane almost got into an accident.

 It was really close earlier, so it’s pretty serious intimidation.

“N, no, I’m sorry.”

“What? That’s it? Hmm?”

“Kashiwagi-kun?  I believe that’s enough.”

 Akio-senpai intercedes from the side in response to my harsh reply.

 I mean, what happened to the bravado earlier, Akio-senpai? Are you a wimp?

“Senpai. Isn’t that enough for now and we should move on? This man will be scolded by my father later.”

 Hmm? What do you mean?

 Everyone is wondering what I’m wondering, it seems.

 Everyone looks at Kubo-san in wonderment. Even the old man, whose face is pale and shaky from a moment ago.

“He seems to be an employee of our company by looking at the truck.”

“Our company?”

“Didn’t I tell you? My father runs a business.”

 The name of the company that Kubo-san said was unlisted, but it was a decent-sized company.

 Apparently, the logo of the company was on the truck.

 So Kubo-san is a legitimate young lady.

 The old man looks like he’s about to die when he hears that, but let’s leave it at that.

“L, Let’s resume touring for now.”

“Right. Kubo-san will take care of this idiot. Also, are you okay now, Akane?”

“Yes. I’ll make sure to tell my father exactly what happened.”

“I, I am fine, too.”

 Everyone agreed with Akio-senpai’s suggestion and got on the bike.

“’Kudo-san, please don’t lose your composure. I’ll slow the pace down a bit.”

“Y, yes.”

 Akane let out a deep breath once more and started her bike.

 Then the touring resumed with Akio-senpai in the lead.

23 thoughts on “Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 21

  1. Thanks very much for the translation of this chapter. I know this arc is kinda of boring, but the exciting arcs will come later, so hope you wont drop this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen this ones a goodun and has potential! Besides nothing wrong with these ‘slow’ chapters. Hes out doing stuff and fleshing out the side characters nicely.

      Like

  2. Thanks for the chapter

    “Quote”
    BTW what’s the English word for when you turn around a corner?
    “Unquote”

    ‘Cornering’, maybe?

    Like

    1. I think that’s not quite fit the flow of the sentence. Because banking is the body position you use when cornering right? While in the sentence he talking about Akane’s abilities at choosing which part of the road she should use when cornering. That’s why Akane nearly crash against the truck when she corners too far in the middle of the road.

      Is my explanation make sense???

      Like

  3. The author here was totally dumb. Akana has almost created an accident because she cannot ride well enough. (I’m biker so I know what I say) But here, the faullt is up to her, not from the truck driver. And in this position, she should have called the police and confronted with them. Logically, the ride should have been aborted because of this accident… sadly, the situation has been resolved with brute force. And not, the truck driver wasn’t a ruffian, just someone who nearly escaped death. Everyone would react the same when in the same situation.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started