Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 8

Chapter 8 Part-time Job of the Hero Part 2

The day after my part-time job at the family restaurant.

 I was at a handcraft shop on the outskirts of the city.

 Apparently they sell tools called silver clay that you can use at home to do silver work, so I came to buy them.

 Why did I come to buy such a thing?

 There’s a not so deep reason for that. Yeah, it’s not really a big deal.

 It’s simply to “make money”. Yup.

 For three years, I’ve been fighting desperately in another world.

 And now that I’ve finally come home, it’s human nature to want to have fun, right?

 However, in this world, you need a certain amount of free time and money to have some fun, and even if you can make some free time because you’re a student, money is hard to come by in this world, isn’t it?

 Of course, I’ll continue to work part-time at a family restaurant, but that’s not enough to make a living.

 Although I may have both power and magic so I could do anything, but I don’t want to do anything bad and I don’t want to stand out.

 That’s why I came up with the idea of making accessories using magic “Smelting” and selling them on the internet.

 Fortunately, I’ve chucked plenty of silver and gold coins, ingots, gems and precious stones as materials into the item box.

 Since I can keep the cost as low as possible, there is no harm in trying it.

 Unfortunately, I don’t have any platinum. It’s difficult to process platinum in the other world, and even if you can process it, you can’t put magic on it and it’s not very strong, so I couldn’t get it because it was worthless. It’s an amazing metal from a scientific standpoint, though.

 Of course, I can’t reveal the source of the materials, so I can’t use jewels or materials that don’t exist in this world, and if I used diamonds or rubies that are over 20 carats, it would become a problem immediately.

 However, there is no way to fool people if they find out I only used the materials I have on hand to make everything, so I will buy a silversmithing kit and leave it at that.

 Yeah, perfect!

 Normally, if you want to make something that’s good enough to be sold, you’ll need a certain amount of skill, but in my case, I can do it through “Magic”.

 I finished shopping and went home to get everything ready.

 It was quite expensive, but let’s consider it as a necessary expense. I can get my money’s worth.


 Before making the website, I need to make some products first.

 However, I have never made any accessories before.

 If I look online, there are many rings and necklaces that can be used as reference, it seems.

 I’m going to make a lot of things based on what the dwarven craftsmen in the other world have made.

 Before that, I’d like to make something for my mother and Ayumi to give as a gift.

 It would be even better to add a bit of magic to it and add “recovery from fatigue” or “health maintenance” to it.

 After I’ve decided on that, I can start making it right away.

 I take out silver and gold coins, gems and precious stones, mithril, magic stones and divine crystals from the item box.

 If it’s Mom and Ayumi, they wouldn’t resell them to anyone else or give them to others, so it should be fine to use mithril and magic stones.

 And I’d like to make the “Grant” stronger for my family members.

 Mithril looks like silver at first glance, and the magic stones look like rubies or garnet, so I think it’s probably won’t be a problem.


 First, I’m going to make a necklace for my mom. The material is mithril. The design is a lily, and a fairy wrapped around a magic stone. Since she was suffering from sore shoulders and back pain, I gave her “recovery from fatigue” and “healing (minor)”.

 Granting magic is literally carving the magic circle in a special way so that magic can be activated on objects, but according to the established rules, you must determine the type of magic, its range, strength, duration, method of supplying magic power, and if you use multiple spells, the order in which they will be used. The stronger the grant, the greater the complexity of the magic circle. If you make even the slightest mistake, it won’t activate. In a way, it’s just like a precision machine.

 And you need to be able to manipulate magic power to do this precision work. Dwarves are very good at manipulating magic power, and for some reason I could learn it by becoming an apprentice to a dwarf for a while.

 After the grant is complete, I cast a magic spell to preserve the state of the magic circle so it does not disappear, and rimmed it with thin gold.

 Similarly, Ayumi’s necklace is also made in the same way, with a cute design of a dog with a magic stone in its mouth. The grant that I put on hers was ‘health maintenance’. She is still young, so she won’t need “recovery from fatigue”.

 While I’m at it, I’m going to make some items for sale as well.

 I used ordinary silver and gold for this one. I tried to give it a grant, but it seems to be impossible for the material, so I made a mithril as thin as spider’s thread and embedded it in the shape of the magic circle. The magic power formed a magic circle that absorbs everything around it, but on this scale, it’s hardly a comforting effect. Well, if it’s too effective, it’ll become a problem, so it’s probably alright. (TL : There’s probably some wrong translation in this paragraph)

 I’ve completed about 20 rings, necklaces and brooches, then I put away the remaining materials.

 For now, this should be enough to launch the website. It’s probably not as fast as I normally make it.

 This should not be too much of a burden for me.


 While I was doing this, it seems it had become evening.

 Apparently Mom had come home from work.

 I went downstairs to the living room with the necklace I had made.

“Mom, I made this for you.”

 I said and handed the necklace to her.

“Are you sure? It looks expensive. Did Yuuya make this necklace? Since when did you have such skills?”

 Mom was a little puzzled, but she happily took it. She put it on and looked at the mirror right away.

 I’m glad. She seemed to be pleased with it. At this rate, she’ll probably wear it regularly. She’s a nurse, so apparently she’s not allowed to wear rings or anything like that.

“I’m home.”

 When Ayumi came home, Mom showed it off to Ayumi.

“Look at this! Yuuya made it for me!”

 She said and showed her the necklace.

“Eeeh! Nii, where is mine? Mine!”

 I brought the necklace I made for Ayumi from my room and gave it to the sulking Ayumi

 Ayumi accepts the necklace happily and shows it to Mom, excitedly showing it to each other. Somehow, it’s so soothing.

“So, Nii, what did you do with it?”

“Well, I was thinking about making stuff as a part-time job and seeing if I could sell it online.”

 I replied, and Ayumi looked at the necklace broodingly.

“Mm. Depends on the price, but this one should sell well enough.”

 That’s what she said.

 Mm, it’s nice to hear a third party’s assessment. That’s something to look forward to.

“I don’t have a website yet, so I’ll have to start working on it.”

“Can I help you with that?”

 That’s honestly an appreciated offer. Girls seem to have better taste in this kind of thing. If anything, I think it would be more fun to make products for women than for men.

“Are you sure? I’ll pay Ayumi a percentage if it sells, so please.” (TL : I’m not sure if it’s accurate)

“Yay! I’m going to do my best to build the website and sell a lot of stuff!”

 Mom smiled at Ayumi, who was all excited and said with a smile, “You have to study, too.”

 As soon as we finished eating dinner, Ayumi came into my room and started to make the website.

 It’s a lot of work, looking at the products I made for the website, thinking about the introductory text for the products, taking pictures, and so on.

 Since it is difficult to exchange money or to manage the site as an individual, I register on a online shopping site, and it does not seem to be something that can be completed in one day. To be honest, I thought it was going to be easy.

 I’m confident that I would fail if I did this on my own.

 I’m an economic student, but I don’t know much about retail business. I have to reflect on that.

 In the end, the site was completed after about a week of work.

 Since I’ve gone to the trouble of starting it, I hope I can sell some of the stuff I made.

 Ayumi has been very enthusiastic about it. So enthusiastic that I’m a little worried about her.

 She said she was going to tell her classmates about it, but the allowance for a junior high school student might not be enough.


 My part-time job at the family restaurant has been going well since then.

 I’m relieved that no strange customers have come here since then, and the false accusation of me wetting myself has died down without spreading.

 So, today too, I’m working at the family restaurant.

“Thank you very much.”

 I finished the customer’s bill and greeted them, then they smiled at me and left the store.

 At that moment, I saw a fully tinted minivan coming into the parking lot.

 I waited in front of the entrance as it seemed to be a customer.

 Six men came into the store. I feel like I’ve seen them before, but I can’t remember where.

 As soon as one of the men sees my face, he whispers something to the man who walked in front of me.

“So it’s you. Come here a minute.”

 He said that to me out of nowhere. But I have no idea what he’s talking about.

“Can I help you with something?”

 I ask that normally.

“I heard that you embarrassed some of our guy last week.”

 I recalled seeing the man’s face once again as he told me that, and then I saw the man’s face as he listened.

“Ah! Those wetting brothers!”

“W, who are you calling the Wetting Brothers!”

 Well, because, you know, all four of them are peeing their pants. It was a lot of work to clean it up.

 The smell lingered for a while, and Mizusaki-san was spraying Feb*eze all over the place.

“Anyway, come here a minute.”

 I wonder if he’s supposed to be the leader. He stuck out his chin like a big shot.

 Well, there’s no other way. Let’s just get this over with and ask them to leave.

 I told Yamada-san(a freeter guy), who was in the hall, I’m gonna take a few minutes off, and left the store to lead them out.

 I went around to the alley behind the store.

 Yup. It’s less conspicuous here.

“You got some nerve.”

 The leader-like man says.

 Before I can answer that, I have to do something.

 I don’t know how much I need to go easy on him.

 I have to be very careful not to overdo it, considering their status, or else people could easily die.

 For now, I’m just going to poke at the block wall on the back side of the store with my middle finger.

 Bakyan!

 Ah, the middle of the block was smashed to pieces.

 It is difficult to adjust the power when I’m entering battle mode.

 This time, I reduced my strength even more and tried again.

 Go!!

 It didn’t shatter, but it cracked.

 Almost.

 Ga!!

 Yeah, it’s stuck on the crack this time. I think that’s about right.

 Now, let’s deal with them. I turned around to look back and saw that, hmm? Isn’t everyone farther away than before?

 I think they were about three meters away from me when I came here, but now they’re almost ten meters away. Why?

 And I feel like we’re getting further and further away from each other…

 I wondered and took a step forward, and they started running away like a rabbit.

 In the blink of an eye, they disappeared.

 Oh dear. But I still didn’t do anything at all.

 But can’t you just get in the car and go home? I don’t want you to leave your car here.

 I didn’t see any of them coming back, so I went back to the store.

 When I entered the store, Mizusaki-san greeted me with a worried look on her face.

 I laughed lightly and told her there was nothing to worry about, so I went back to work.

 …But now that I think about it, she didn’t get mad at me for leaving the shop without permission while I was at work. Is that okay?

12 thoughts on “Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 8

  1. Cheers for the chap cap!

    I love how casually he damages a brick wall and they all just bolt. Bit of an odd choice to come picking a fight with a dude that made 4 blokes involuntarily void their bladders just be glaring at them but i suppose thugs aint too smart.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t understand why returnee’s don’t or are afraid to tell their family about their experiences from the otherworld. I think they should tell them because they are their family.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started