Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 4

Chapter 4 Magic of the Hero III

 In the early morning of the next day, since I couldn’t have people watching me verify my magic, I rode my motorcycle into the mountains where no one lived.

 I had prepared breakfast for Ayumi and my mother, so there should be no problem.

 I rode up the mountain road near Okutama to the point where I could ride my bike and then walked further up from where the road was cut off.

 There’s a funny thing about the physical aspect of this climb.

 I can walk through the mountain with no path at all very fast and not feel tired or out of breath. Furthermore, If I’m not careful, the ground will gouge out a big hole when I forcefully step on it. Isn’t it dangerous if it’s already like this without me even using physical strengthening?

 At this rate, I’m sure it’s the same as when I was in the other world, with the same physical ability as shown on the status screen.

 Wow! I could win all the gold medals at the Olympics. As I recall, the world record for 100 meters is a little over 40 kilometers per hour, right? I can run a few dozen miles at an average speed of 60+ kilometers per hour now, and I can do a vertical jump of 5 meters.

 Yeah, I’m definitely quitting being a human for good.


 With a slightly depressed mood, I continue on. The trees become low bushes and the view improves. Was it called the edge of the forest?

 Suddenly there are no more tall trees, and the rock face is bare in many places. By the way, how high is the altitude of this place?

 I look for a blind spot from the foothills and the mountain trail.

 I’ve found a place that seems to be just right in the valley between two ridges, so I’ll try to examine it here. It’s also convenient that there are mostly rocks and almost no vegetation. It’s not a good idea to destroy the environment.

 …I’m already assuming that I can use magic at this point, but I don’t know…

 First, I used earth magic to adjust the ground in order to get a foothold.

 Then I used gravity magic on a group of rocks about 3 meters away from my body.

 I’m going to try “Fire Arrow”, “Ice Lance” and “Water Bullet” all at once.

 I could use them with the same sensation and power as I did in the other world.

“Ha~~~…”

 I let out a long sigh.

 I mean, it’s something, you know, like in the novels, is the earth actually have magic? Demon? but because the quantity is really small, so you can barely use magic, and even if you can, it’s not very powerful~ or something like that, is it?

 I was hoping for that, too.

 Certainly. If I’m not going to be able to use the magic that I’ve worked so hard to master, I’m going to miss it, right?

 But, it’s obvious that magic is too powerful here in this world.

 Everyday life is much more comfortable in this world than in other worlds because of the power of science, and even though there are crimes, there are no monsters or magical beasts, so there’s hardly any danger for ordinary people.

 It may be convenient to be able to use magic, but the risk is too great if you think about what will happen if you are found out. There might not be many people who believe in it completely, but there will still be people who will make a fuss about it, and there will surely be people who will try to use it.

 No matter how strong and how much magic I can use, there’s only so much things that I can do on my own. It will involve my family and friends, furthermore in today’s society of advanced laws and information technology, I won’t be able to solve it by force like in other worlds.

 Okay! Let’s try to use as little magic as possible!

 …What? You say it’s already like that from the start? …that’s how it works, you know? …


 With slightly slumped shoulders, I next check the item box.

 I found that I could use this one the same way I did in the other world, by moving in and out the items displayed in the window, from large to small items at random.

 There’s no way to verify the effects of the items, but since we won’t be using them, well, it’s okay.

 I mean, if you have a weapon, you’ll be caught, and if you have armor or other protective gear, you’ll definitely be recognized as a cosplayer or a terminally ill person. It’s too much.

 Other materials such as dragon scales and fangs, mithril and orichalcum ingots, magic stones and divine crystals are too mysterious to be shown to others. It will turn the common sense of the natural science field upside down.

 There are gems, precious stones, gold and silver coins, and other treasures.If you use earth magic “Smelting”, you may be able to process them, but there’s no way to explain & prove how you got them, so they’re literally just a waste of treasure. I’m sure that if you can sell it, it will be worth several hundred million to several billion yen… If I process a small amount of it and sell it on the internet, then maybe people won’t notice…

 There are potions, antidotes, abnormal status canceling potions, and even elixirs, but there’s no use for these either. It’s hard to believe that anyone would take such a suspicious potion. If you have an injured animal or something, though, I might want to try using it. At least I want to try the effect if I have a chance.

 If I could make an elixir using this world materials, I’m sure I’d win the Nobel Prize. After all, you can make a full recovery, even from the verge of death. No, I won’t try it. I just imagine it for a moment and grin.

 For now, I’ve decided to let most of the stuff sit in the item box and become fertilizer.

 There’s no upper limit to the amount of items that can be stored, so there’s no problem.

 It seems that items from this world can also be put in and out of the box, so as long as nobody finds out about it, it will be quite convenient, what should I do?


  I’ve gone through a number of tests, but there’s one last magic that needs to be verified.

 [Summoning magic]

 It’s not the same magic that’s used when I was called to the other world, it’s the familiar magic from a certain famous RPG that summons the magical creature with which I made a servant’s contract.

 It’s a compound magic of the [Subordinate] and [Space] magic, and I found it quite useful in the other world.  I’ve got a total of four servants in my contract.

 In case I can summon one of them, let’s try to summon the one that’s easy to understand and has the least amount of impact.

 I’m not sure if the summoning magic will work because the worlds are different, but just to be sure.

 Manipulate the magic power and draw the summoning magic circle.

“Summon! Kagero!”

 Casting the spell, waiting.

 Two seconds, five seconds, ten seconds, thirty seconds…

 After nearly a minute, no change has come.

 Whoa~! That’s some Chuuni line right there, so embarrassing!!

 My shame is maxed out with the realization that nothing is happening after what I’m saying and doing just now.

 No, I knew I couldn’t do it; you know? I’d rather not be successful, you know?

 And yet, what is this feeling of “I’ve finally done it”? If anyone saw that, I’m sure I could make them disappear from existence! I don’t need this black history in my life!

 When I was writhing in agony like that, the magic circle suddenly activated and a black shadow of about 2 meters appeared.

 The shadows immediately converge and take the form of an enormous wolf.

 As soon as that wolf saw me, it latched onto me, wagging its tail and licking my face.

“Ha, hahaha…”

 Is this for real?

 I couldn’t help but laugh dryly and stunned for a moment.

 I don’t know for how long it stunned me, but I can’t stay stunned forever.

 Even if I wasn’t. A huge black wolf of nearly 2 meters licked all over my face, and it’s making my face sticky.

 And of course this guy doesn’t brush his teeth, so his saliva smells terrible. Give me a break.

 Anyway, I pulled the wolf away and washed my face with water magic.

 I manage to regain my composure and look at the wolf again.

 A huge black wolf of about two meters in length. It’s a kind of monster called the [Shadow Wolf], which is quite powerful and rare even in the other world.

 They can hide in the shadows, and when they are in the shadows, they cannot be attacked. They have a vicious skill that allows them to move from shadow to shadow in an instant. His intelligence is quite high, and although he cannot speak, he can understand human language.

 I defeated him in the labyrinth built by the Demon King and made a subordinate’s contract with him. I’ve been with him since I named him “Kagero”, just like his race name. He is the oldest among my subordinates.

 The shadow wolf sits down quietly and looks at me while wagging his tail some distance away.

“Ahh, my apologies for calling you out on the spur of the moment. It’s not that I had any business with you, but I was just trying to see if I could call you from this world.”

“Kyuun”.

 The shadow wolf whines while wagging its tail as if to say ‘no problem’.

 Despite his intimidating appearance, his gestures are quite cute, as he is a big dog himself.

”I was so busy running around when I was still in the other world that I forgot about it. Do you want to terminate the subordinate contract?”

“Gau!”

 When I slipped that out, the shadow wolf snorted in disapproval.

 Well, even if you don’t cancel the contract, if I send them back to their original location, the servant will still live a normal life?  I can do that, but I think this guy would be completely free if I canceled my contract with him, either way.

 My companions adored him, so I don’t think he would attack people now.

 Normally, a magical path is created between a servant and a contractor, and the connection between them can be perceived. I’ve heard that the distance to the other party, life, and death, etc. can be understood by both parties without the need to summon them.

 Maybe because I’m calling it from another world this time, I couldn’t perceive the path.

 That’s why I thought the summoning magic wouldn’t succeed, but apparently it’s different.

 I guess the reason it took so long to summon him was simply because the world was different.

 Either way, I can’t just casually call the other summoned beasts. Especially since the others are either really big or a bit problematic.

 I throw the dried meat from the item box into the shadow wolf’s large mouth before sending it back.

 It looks like he’s not happy with the fact that I sent him home right away after just calling him, but it can’t be helped. I’ll call him up again when I find another opportunity and a place where he won’t be found.

 If this guy is going to be found, he could hide in the shadows and won’t be noticed.  It’s the only thing that helped us in our search and covertness, too.


 After all the verifications are done, I decide to return home after restoring the state of my surroundings.

 I suddenly felt tired all at once, so I used “Transition Magic” to move to the forest near the place where I park my bike, making sure that no one saw me before I got on the bike.

 I looked at the time on my phone, and it was still before noon.

 Let’s stop for lunch at Ken*ky on the way.

 Then I have to go shopping for clothes. I’ve lost a lot of my clothes.

 Sigh, the money…

6 thoughts on “Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 4

  1. He can disguise himself then look for some rich people who are terminally ill and sell them his elixir for big bucks.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started