Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 5

Chapter 5 Magic of the Hero IV

“Phew.”

 I exhaled as I walked past the white-haired, white-clad old man’s statue with an eerie smile that never crumbled.

 Seems I ate too much because it had been a while.

 I knew I was getting a little too carried away with the burger + 6 pieces of chicken. It’s mostly not easy on my wallet.

 Fast food is quite expensive when you want to eat a lot of it.

 And I had to buy some clothes afterwards. What a problem.

 I parked my bike in the center of town and walked around.

 And when I saw a lottery ticket booth, I stopped by because there’s something that I want to try.

“Scratch lottery ticket, please, 10 tickets”.

 When I said that, the woman at the sales counter would kindly bring it out for me, but

“Oh, I’m sorry. Can I choose one?”

“It’s fine~”

 She responds with a smile and lays out about ten bags.

 I quickly activate my [appraisal].

“Appraisal”

   Scratch Ticket(set of 10)

   A type of lottery in which a specific spot is scraped off to check the Prize

   Sales price 2000 yen, winning price 200 yen

 Yes, as expected, I can [Appraise] the contents without knowing what’s inside.

 I quickly check the other bag without being suspicious.

“Appraisal”

   Scratch Ticket(set of 10)

   A type of lottery in which a specific spot is scraped off to check the Prize

   Sales price 2000 yen, winning price 50200 yen

 BINGO!

 I found what I wanted, so I picked it and paid for it.

 After receiving the lottery, I scraped off the scratch in the empty space next to the counter, and there was definitely a winning lottery of 50,000 yen for the first prize and 200 yen for the last prize.

 The woman smiled at me when I put the lottery out on the counter right away.

“Congratulations! That’s amazing!”

 She congratulated me.

“Thank you”

 I thanked her, then took the money and left the place.

 Wow, this thing is crazy, isn’t it?

 For a poor student, 50,000 yen is a lot of money. I can’t help but feel elated at having that much money in an instant, but as the excitement dies down a little, I start to feel uneasy.

 …Isn’t this the same as something like “A shoplifter who will never get caught”?

 I think it’s okay to use “Appraisal” for insight into finding something of value, but you shouldn’t cheat with a lottery ticket that receives cash.

 Whoa! When I think like that, the guilt is killing me!

 Yeah! I will never do that again!

 There’s something about it that makes me feel like I’m going in the wrong direction as a human being. It’s just that there’s no way for me to be found out, and it’s a crime no matter how you look at it. It’s unlikely that I’ll be capable of openly continuing to make money that way. I’m basically a timid person.

 However, I can’t even return this money, so I’m going to quickly spend the money away. After all, I can’t explain the reason.


“I told you I’m busy! Get out of my way!”

 As I was struggling with my inner self, I heard a familiar angry voice.

 What’s more, Akane and I think that’s Nana-chan, are getting tangled up in a group of three guys who seem to pick on them.

 They are often picked up because they are both quite good looking. That’s what Akane said before, so it’s true.

 But this time, the other party seems to have a poor attitude.

“Yo! What’s going on?”

 I call out to Akane, feigning a casual air.

 When her eyes meet mine, she makes a joyful face.

“Yuuya! You’re late!”

 That’s what she said. This bastard, she’s going to leave me to deal with these guys. As usual, you got a nice personality.

“What the fuck! Are you messing with me? Ah?!”

 Well, it’s only natural…

 I’m going to appraise them, just in case.

Name: Ichiro Satou 

Race: Human

Level: 8

HP: 85

MP: 4

Power: 40

Speed: 12

Intelligence: 20

Vitality: 40

Luck: 10

Attack power: 30

Defense: 20

 His Status is so low!

 Seriously? Is the status of people in this world this low?

 That’s only about half the statuses of the average villager in another world!

 Just to be sure, I looked at the other two’s statuses and they were almost identical.

 Although most of the people in the other world are hardcore manual laborers, is there really that big of a difference?

 If this is the case, if I were to get into a fight with someone, a light blow could kill them. Oh no, oh no, (trembling)…….

 I’ll try to do something in the direction that doesn’t involve any violence for now.

 However, I didn’t expect that there are people in Japan who would get involved in such an outdated method nowadays.

“Now, now, Don’t say that, why don’t you take a look at this?”

 After saying that, I took out a 500-yen coin from my wallet and moved it to a position where it could not be seen by Akane and the others yet could be seen by the pickup artists, and bend the coin using three fingers as if to show it to them.

 The three pickup guys froze when they saw the neatly folded 500-yen coin.

 By the way, how many kilos of grip strength is required to bend a 500-yen coin? Wasn’t there a story about the late Baidatsu Oyama-san bending a 10-yen coin with his finger?

 I’m glad I could crush it, it would be very embarrassing if I failed to do so. Next time, I’ll try it before I do it in front of others. Yeah.

“So, can you spare us the trouble?”

 As I say that, I dropped the bent coin into the hands of one of them.

“Y, yes! We apologize!”

 The three pickup guys immediately bowed their heads carefully and moved away as if they were running away. Or rather, they are definitely running away.

Yup, it’s good that they’re obedient.

 When I turned to Akane and the others again, Nana-chan gave me a look of genuine gratitude and Akane gave me a scowl.

“’What did you do to them?’”

“It seems they get it after a brief talk. Well~, I’m glad, I’m glad.”

 When I return it as a tease, Akane glares even more at me.

“So? What, did, you, do?”

 Apparently she doesn’t get fooled. I mean, you’re scary, Akane-san.

 Think! You can do it, me!

“W, well, I just gave them the name of a guy I used to work with whom used to be a rascal around here.”

 Yeah. I managed to come up with a not so unnatural excuse.

“Hmmm~. Well, whatever.”

 She pulled back, still looking somewhat unconvinced.

 Oh, man. I’ve been working hard, aren’t I?

“Um, thank you very much.”

 Nana-chan thanks me politely.

 You’re still a quiet girl. Akane should learn a little from you. But when I thought that, Akane kicked me in the shin. How did you know?

“It’s so rare to find you around here, what are you doing?”

“I’m here to buy clothes. Before I knew it, a lot of them didn’t fit anymore.”

“Uni*lo?”

“Yeah.”

“Would you like me to pick one for you? We’re bored, too, and we can just go to Sta***cks.” (TL : not sure if this one’s right)

 You’re totally intending to tag along.

 Well, that’s okay too.

 I want to use up all the money I’ve won from the lottery, and I’m not at all confident in my fashion sense.

 Akane seems to have excellent fashion sense, she sometimes tries to go in a strange direction, but with Nana-chan present, we can avoid that too.


“Well, Sorry about that~!  You even treated me to dinner!”

“You better be grateful.”

 I responded to Akane, who was in a good mood.

“I wonder if it’s really okay for you to pay for me too. Um, at least let me pay for half of it.”

“It was delicious. I’m satisfied.”

 You don’t have to be so reserved, Nana-chan. And Ayumi, you should refrain a little. You ate three portions and two desserts. I’m afraid of your appetite.

 It’s more than the original number of people, but as we were hanging out after buying some clothes, Akane and Nana said they were going out for dinner, so I, who had some spare cash, decided to join them.

 I sent a text message to Ayumi saying ‘I’ll give you some money later, so go eat somewhere for dinner,’ but Ayumi, who was apparently on break from club activities, insisted on joining us.

 Well, it’s fun to do this once in a while, isn’t it?

There is still some money left over from the lottery, but I’ll just toss it into a random donation box at the convenience store later.  For the sake of my mental health.

It’s still a little after seven o’clock, but I’d better get home.


Don! Squeak!! Crash!!!

 A horrendous sound came from in front of us as we walked to where we had left our bikes.

 Suddenly, our surroundings were in an uproar. It seems to be a traffic accident.

 It’s hard to see from here in the crowd, but I could make out a girl in her school uniform lying on the road.

 I hesitate for a moment. From the sound of things just now, there is a high possibility that she is quite injured. I might be able to help her with magic, but there are many people around as well as Akane and the others. Using magic in this situation is too risky.

 However, if I don’t use it, she may die. The slightly visible uniform looked like the same school uniform as Ayumi’s. It could be a friend of Ayumi’s. What should I do?

 My thoughts are in a mess and I can’t get them together at all.

 Whatever! Do the thinking later!

 For now, I’ll do what I can!

“Ayumi and Nana-chan, call an ambulance and the police. Akane, check on the other person involved in the accident.”

“Okay, I understand.”

“Then I’ll call the police.”

“I got it, but what about you, Yuuya?”

“I will take care of the injured.”

 Time is running out, so I immediately start walking.

 First of all, I cast a [Recognition Inhibition] spell on myself so that I can avoid the perception of the surrounding people. Then I [Search] my surroundings to see who’s pointing their cell phones and cameras. I mean, what kind of nerve do these guys have to take pictures with their cameras without calling an ambulance when there’s a person injured!

 Pissed off, I aim at the camera and mobile phone (including the smartphone) and hit them with a pinpoint “Lightning Strike”.

 I can hear screaming and shouting, but I ignore it! Ignore it!

 This level of “Lightning Strike” is invisible to the eye. It won’t be found out.

 As soon as I scramble through the crowd and run up to the collapsed girl, I use magic to check her injuries.

 She’s still breathing. She’ s okay. I can still make it.

 She suffered a fractured skull and internal injuries, as well as deep gashes on her face and arms that may have gotten caught when she was thrown to the ground. Serious injuries, but fortunately no sign of brain damage.

 I’m going to apply [Heal] to the serious wounds and [Regeneration] to the wounds on her face and arms to a degree that the wound will soon disappear. It’s a bad idea to heal them completely because they’re covered in blood all around. But I feel sorry for the girl for leaving a scar on her, too.

 She’s bleeding from her head as well, but it’s in a position where I can’t see it, and I’ve used [Heal] on the inside of her body, so this should be fine as it is.

“Ugh…”

 The girl flinches as she regains some consciousness.

“It’s okay. The ambulance will be here in a minute, so stay put and don’t move.”

 I say that and release the [Recognition Inhibition]. Soon after, Ayumi and Nana approached me….Speaking of which, who was the other party in the accident?

 When I think about it like that.

“Ah, today’s not my lucky day.”

 A young man said this as he approached.

“Hey you! She’s lying there injured! What are you thinking?!”

 Akane is snapping.

“Tch! Shut up. It’s none of your business.”

 The man murmurs in a small voice, probably so he won’t be heard, but my sharp and trained ears are able to pick up the man’s muttered words.

 At that moment, I grabbed the man’s chest and hoisted him up with one hand.

“Is that all you’re going to say?”

“Wha?! Ugh……..”

 Regardless of the groaning, I put more killing intent into the man.

 The man’s face twitches and turns blue.

“Yuuya! Calm down!”

 It’s okay. I’m calm enough. For now, let’s just vaporize this guy in an instant.

“Yuuya!”

 Akane clings to me, thus distracting me a bit with the feel of her breasts pressed against me. This girl surprisingly has some.

 I regretfully let the man go as the ambulance siren approaches.

 Akane has a slightly relieved look on her face. Hmm~ Did I make her worried?

 Apparently, the police officers have arrived as well. People who apparently witnessed the accident in the surrounding area are talking to the officers about the situation.

 They said, “He ran through the red light without slowing down and then crashed into her” or “He was making a phone call without getting out of the car after he stopped,” and so on. I should have killed him after all.

 Well, I did give him a little punishment when I let him go.

 I heard that the girl was put into the ambulance safely. She’s still in a daze, but she will be okay.

Even though we had a nice dinner, I felt so disgusted at the end.

 Let’s go home quickly and take a bath.


 I was going to let Ayumi leave first as I was returning home on my bike, but she said she had inadvertently brought a spare helmet with her. What a shrewd fellow.

 I told her we couldn’t ride together because she was in a skirt, but she said, “It’s a culotte, so it’s okay.” What’s a culotte?

 I pulled the bike out to the driveway and then straddled it. Ayumi also got on the passenger seat and put her hands around my waist.

“I’ll see you later. Nana also see you later.”

“ah, Yuuya…”

 Akane wanted to say something, but eventually she said nothing. She smiled and waved at me, so I turned around and started the bike.

 It takes about 10 minutes of travel to get to our house. I park my bike in the garage and enter the house.

 Ayumi walks up the stairs to go back to her room, but then turns around.

“Nii, you were cool.”

 Having said that, she continued walking upstairs.

 Feeling a little better, I went into the living room to get ready to take a bath.

 Am I Simple? Yeah, maybe.

 Oh yeah, I must remember to prepare a meal for my mom, too.

 I ended up using my magic in the city earlier, but I’ll probably be fine. I’ll just decide not to worry about it.

 If I had left her unattended to hide my magic, I would have regretted it a lot more, plus I took the utmost care. I don’t care about what happens afterward.


Author Note :

The next story will be from Akane’s point of view.

12 thoughts on “Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 5

  1. This guy is kinda dim, he won’t even try to sell his gold, and he thinks picking a winning lottery ticket is wrong even though the ticket would’ve been won by someone else anyway. Sure it’s not “fair” but lotteries aren’t fair in the first place.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Another weak-ass mental MC🤦‍♂️.
    The guy goes around killing demons (and perhaps criminals) in another world for years, but get cold feet for using his abilities on Earth?!
    Anyway, what’s the big deal in using appraisal with lotteries? He could just win a jackpot, that way his mother could quit working the graveyard shift as a nurse and like that avoid her a possible stroke…
    Eck, if I had appraisal, I’d play once for the big guns and let my family enjoy early retirement…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the chapter! Brilliant quality as always!

    Enjoying this one so far. Cant help but feel him still having the holy sword is gonna cause issues down the line. Now we wait to see who saw him using magic on the girl.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started