Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 17

Chapter 17 Side Story – The Determination of Each of These Man First Part

Side – A Certain Boy Determination

 Mom had taken me and my sister to a place called “Art Museum”.

 I wasn’t a big fan of the place, but mom wanted to come, so I came with her.

 Father was supposed to come with us, but he couldn’t because he had to do some work.

 Mom looked happy, but I was bored.

 My sister was still small, so we held hands and looked at various things, but I didn’t find anything that looked interesting.

 I should have brought my 3DS with me.

 While I was playing rock-paper-scissors with my sister, I heard a loud noise from outside.

 It sounded like fireworks.

 Then there was a “Bakuchik” sound, and people started to get restless.

 Mom called out to me and my sister and then grabbed my hand.

 What is it?

 My sister is so surprised that she’s about to cry.

 I was stroking my sister’s head to keep her from crying when I heard a bang, bang, bang sound and a Gaijin with a big gun came in.

 The Gaijin was screaming something out loud, but I couldn’t understand what he was saying.

 But I felt scared.

 Mom made me and my sister go to the corner of the room together.

 Everyone else was going to the corner as well.

 And then mom told us to sit down quietly, so we did it.

 We sat for a while, but nothing happened.

 The Gaijin was staring at us and saying things out loud, but we didn’t understand a thing.

 But my sister got scared and cried.

 The Gaijin came up to us and yelled at us, but little kids cry when they’re scared, you know.

 The Gaijin is an adult, but he doesn’t seem to understand that.

 I think that this Gaijin must be an idiot.

 He didn’t study hard enough to do the schoolwork his father said he should have done, so he became a bald man who can only do tough jobs.

 The Gaijin grabbed mom’s hand and tried to pull her away.

 Mom let out a pained sound.

 I bit down on Gaijin’s hand that was holding mom as hard as I could.

 The Gaijin let out a weird sound and let go of his hand.

 I’m a boy, so I need to protect my mom and sister.

 That’s what my father always told me.

 The Gaijin shouted loudly and pointed his gun at us.

 I stood in front of mom and sister like I had seen on TV and held open my hands.

 I squeezed my eyes shut because I was scared.

 I heard the loud “bang, bang, bang” sound again.

 But I didn’t feel like I was hurting anywhere.

 A little while later, I heard a sound of something falling and I was patted on the head, like how my father always did.

 When I opened my eyes, I saw Kamen Rider Wizard in front of me.

 It surprised me.

 After all, everyone said that it was a made-up story, and that there was no such thing as a real Kamen Rider.

 I thought so too, but now it’s right in front of me.

 Why?

 The Kamen Rider Wizard said it was all right, so I looked around and saw the Gaijin lying there with a weird look on his face.

 He saved me.

 I was so relieved; I peed myself.

 It was so embarrassing, even though I’m the big brother.

 But the Kamen Rider Wizard used a magical spell to clean me up.

 Magic is so cool!

 I want to be a magician, too!

 I thought magic is only found in stories, but if it’s real, then maybe I can use it too.

 I remember an older brother who lives next door told me that if I remained a “DT” until I was 30 years old, I could become a magician.(TL : DT = Doutei = Virgin)

 That’s why I’m going to do my best to become a “DT”.

 If I do that, maybe I’ll become like the Kamen Rider Wizard.

 Let’s work hard starting tomorrow.

(TL : Damn my stomach hurt)


Side – A Certain Police Officer Determination

“Phew – ……”

 I stop typing the report and exhale sharply.

 The Place I am now is in the office of the Metropolitan Police Department’s Organized Crime Division.

 My name is Akitomo Gorou. I’m the section chief of this department. My rank is Inspector.

 Naturally, I’m not a great detective, and I don’t have any acquaintances who are the grandchildren of great detectives that always get involved in murder cases like some kind of jinx. (TL : Not sure about this part)

 I have been pondering over the report on the ” Attack on the Persian Art Exhibition” that took place the other day.

 The case itself has already been solved and the six terrorists and the liaison officer who carried out the attack, as well as the criminal organization that supported them, have all been apprehended.

 So it’s not the case itself that bothers me.

 The story is like this.

 I was in this office that day, as I am now, doing paperwork.

 At 11:03 a.m., I received an emergency call.

 There was an explosion at the Tokyo Metropolitan Art Museum, and at the same time a group of armed foreigners broke into the museum.

 They were holding the minister, the secretary of the museum, the ambassador of the country I and many other guests as hostages.

 In other words, the Metropolitan Police Department’s Organized Crime Division was called in to investigate this as a terrorist incident.

 I took all the investigators in my office and rushed to the scene.

 Given the situation, I requested the Security Department to mobilize a task force, including an explosive ordnance disposal team, and the Special Assault Team (SAT).

 In this kind of organized crime, the first response is the most important.

 The sequential introduction of personnel and other measures can only delay the resolution of the incident.

 I arrived at the scene and immediately locked down the area.

 We evacuate all the people in the surrounding buildings.

 When the lockdown was complete, one of the hostages was released and the demands of the criminal group were conveyed to us.

 The demand was for the release of a senior member of an international terrorist group who was under arrest and detained in Country I.

 It is international common sense not to negotiate with terrorists, but that decision is not ours to make.

 I contacted my superiors and informed them of the demands.

 There would be no change in my job, of course.

 According to the released hostages’ interview, the number of terrorists was smaller than expected, maybe less than ten.

 But with so many hostages inside the building, I can’t tell what’s going on inside.

 It seems it will take some time to solve this case.

 I was in charge of directing the scene, and as I was giving the lead personnel the go-ahead for the moment, there was some noise in the park behind me.

“What’s the matter?”

 I ask a nearby officer as I head to the scene of the commotion.

“I heard someone dressed in a suspicious outfit fell from the sky…”

 I frown at the too vague response.

 You’re not a child, there’s no way someone fell out of the sky.

 When I think about that.

“I, inspector! Look at that!”

 When I looked in the direction that another policeman was pointing, I saw that a human-like object was indeed floating diagonally above the building where the terrorists were holed up.

 It’s hard to see it clearly due to the distance.

 But there is no way a human being can fly without tools.

 While I was wondering if it was something like a drone, the figure jumped into the lobby entrance of the building.

 We are flustered.

 I don’t know who the prankster is, but it wouldn’t be wise to inadvertently provoke the terrorists in the current situation where there are hostages.

 But we can’t just rush in after him either.

 For the time being, I’m issuing instructions to narrow the encirclement around the entrance and change the formation to be able to respond to unforeseen circumstances.

 A few tens of seconds after the something jumped in, a figure appeared at the entrance and threw a person out.

 The appearance of the thrown out person’s clothing matches the freed hostage’s description of the terrorist.

 We don’t know if the person is dead or alive, but there is no sign of movement.

 The person who threw him out was only visible for a moment, but he appeared to be a relatively tall man wearing what looked like a black coat.

 However, I couldn’t see his face because he seemed to wear a mask.

 I immediately give instructions to approach from the shadows and secure the person that believed to be the terrorist.

 As soon as we succeeded in securing him, another person was thrown out.

 This time, since we were also near the entrance, we could clearly see the person who tossed him out.

“I, is that Kamen Rider?”

 Someone mutters.

 It’s true that he looks like a person dressed as a Tokusatsu hero.

 Of course, there is no way that anyone here would think that he is a real Kamen Rider.

 To us, he looks just as suspicious as the terrorists.

 Although he seems to be hostile to the terrorists, we cannot be optimistic that he will take into account the safety of the hostages.

 In the first place, how did that person get into the building in the first place?

 The building’s entrances and exits are all monitored, down to the emergency exits and plumbing passageways.

 I’m sure that something flew in from the sky, but are you implying that he really was flying?

 Anyway, I don’t have time to think about the things I don’t have an answer for right now.

 One of the SAT personnel who has been checking the inside of the building confirms that there is no one in the lobby.

 And then 15 personnel rush into the lobby.

 The rest are waiting around the building and near the emergency exit.

 I have to leave the rest to the captain and the professionally trained members of the team.

 I don’t care if they are high ranking or not, all I can do is to create an environment where the site can work efficiently and take responsibility for it.

 A few minutes of struggling to keep my anxiety from showing because I don’t know what’s going on inside.

 The interior of the entrance suddenly becomes noisy.

 Tension is building in the surrounding police force.

 As I watched with bated breath, people who would have been held hostage came out one after another, led by a member of the SAT team.

 They all have a uniformly anxious look on their faces, but when they see the police officers, they wave their hands widely.

 Some of them even sat down as if they were crumbling.

 I was stunned, and when I came to myself, I immediately instructed them to protect the civilians.

 Of course, I also make them check to see if there are any terrorists mixed in with them.

“Can someone explain the situation to me?”

 When one of the cops questioned them, one boy

“It was the Kamen Rider Wizard that saved us, you know.”

 He said.

“Oh, um, some guy in a Kamen Rider costume knocked down the guy with the gun and freed us.”

 Another man also testifies.

 Perhaps it’s the person from earlier.

 Although he may not be a bad person, it is still very troubling to have someone who is not professionally trained act on his own.

 I sincerely hoped it would end without incident.

 Another ten minutes later, another hostage came out again, led by SAT members.

 Among them are the ambassador of Country I and the minister.

 It seems that the incident was safely resolved.

 Looking at the expressions on the SAT team members’ faces, it seems that no one is injured.

 When I was feeling relieved, one of my subordinates came to call me.

“Inspector. There’s an urgent call from Captain Maruyama of the raiding team.”

 I quickly regained my composure and answered the radio.

 Captain Maruyama informed me that the person who had subdued the terrorists had recovered bombs that they had brought with them, and that he would ask us to dispose of it.

 There was no end to the questions as to how on earth he managed to retrieve the bomb, but in any case, we couldn’t just leave it there.

 Fortunately, the bomb disposal team is also prepared, and I tell them to lead him to the explosion proof wall.

 We waited for a few minutes.

 A person in costume came out of the first floor emergency exit.

 I’ve ordered the surrounding officers not to make impulsive moves beforehand.

 So far, this person seems to be very cooperative, and considering that he has subdued an armed terrorist by himself, it is highly likely that he has some kind of weapon in his possession.

 Furthermore, no clear criminal activity has been identified so far.

 I suppose I could charge him with obstruction of justice if I had to, but it wouldn’t be wise to provoke him unnecessarily when he’s showing his willingness to cooperate with the police.

 However, we can’t just simply thank him for his cooperation and let him go.

 At the very least, we need to confirm his identity and question him.

 After placing the bomb inside the explosion proof wall, the SAT personnel surround the cosplayer who emerges.

 Of course, they’re not pointing a gun at him because he’s not a definite criminal.

“Thank you for your cooperation. I’m sorry, but we need you to come with us to the police station for questioning.”

 Captain Maruyama spoke to him.

“Oh, I’m sorry, but please spare me that. Well then, I’m going to take my leave.”

 It was the first time I had ever heard his voice. It was a young man’s voice.

 But what was he going to do in this state of being surrounded by the troops?

 As I was thinking this, the costumed man’s body seemed to glow slightly, and then he vanished.

 Of course I didn’t blink. No, even if I did, there’s no way he could have disappeared in an instant like that.

 The team members are looking around and upward, but they can’t seem to find anything.

 I can’t believe what happened right in front of me.

 Certainly, if he is a skilled magician, he might be able to move and disappear in a moment.

 However, that is only possible in the situation where both the place and the trick are prepared, and it is only by temporarily hiding himself so that the audience can not see him.

 In this case, it was not a situation in which a trick was possible, and he vanished from in front of the people who surrounded him.

 Are you going to say that he was a ghost?

 Although I don’t even believe in ghosts.

 When I finished recounting the incident, I let out a deep breath again.

 There was definitely a bomb inside the bomb shelter that was left there after that.

 I can confirm that we weren’t all daydreaming, but I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not.

 Most of the terrorists who were secured were seriously wounded.

 In particular, two of the three that had been stationed on the top floor had severe frostbite, which eventually led to the amputation of one arm and the other of both arms.

 The remaining one had a ruptured testicle. It was so bad that all the troopers, officers and paramedics who saw the injuries ended up walking pigeon toed for a while.

 The man on the first floor had multiple fractures in both arms and legs and a shattered jaw.

 The rest were seriously injured either way, with either broken bones or burns.

 The injuries are certainly severe, but I wouldn’t say they were overkill in this case.

 They were all armed with automatic rifles and had concealed handguns and knives.

 In fact, there was testimony that they were firing at children.

 In addition, they had also planted bombs that were supposed to be capable of exploding on a substantial scale.

 And he had managed to subdue them all by himself, without injuring any of the hostages.

 Afterwards, I asked SAT captain Maruyama if it was possible.

“I suppose it would be possible if we could accurately assess the location of the terrorists, have the speed to get from the entrance to the culprit in an instant, and render them incapable of fighting in a single blow. And that’s without being noticed by the others on the other floors.”

 He replied with a bitter smile.

 That would be practically impossible, wouldn’t it?

 But the reality is that cosplayers managed to do it.

 Furthermore, according to witnesses, he didn’t use any weapons at all.

 But that doesn’t explain the frostbite and burn injuries.

 When it came to the frostbite, the doctor said it was completely frozen, and that such a thing would have been impossible without being immersed in liquid nitrogen for a certain period.

 But according to witnesses, it froze in an instant.

 There were also bullets found with no visible evidence of having any impact marks in any part of the room even though they had been fired, and an automatic rifle that had been deformed to the point of being impossible to shoot without using a press, and other things that make no sense at all.

 But we can’t just let him off the hook either.

 Whatever method he used, the things he did were too dangerous.

 Of course, it will be difficult to charge him with a crime.

 Even if the terrorists were injured, it would be considered an emergency evacuation under criminal law, given the circumstances, and it’s not very likely to be considered a murder because the other party is not dead.

 And since there was no evidence that the police had stopped him from entering a building that was on lockdown, it wouldn’t be obstruction of justice, nor would it be trespassing since the facility was open to the public.

 If I had to choose, it was only that he entered the exhibition room without purchasing a ticket, but it was too minor a charge against the act of repelling a terrorist.

 At best, I could ask him to cooperate with us in a voluntary questioning.

 But still, I’d at least like to know his identity and what means of attack he used.

 In the unlikely event that he becomes a criminal in the future, I can’t think of a way to deal with him as it is now.

 Also, if he really is able to disappear in a situation where he is surrounded by people, it might not be worth it even if we were able to restrain him.

 I investigated whether I could find out the identity from the costume itself, but the item used for the actual filming has been kept and there is no evidence that it was taken out. The same was true for those used for events. The rest was made by a maniacal individual who imitated them, but this one was completely untraceable.

 It was completely out of reach.

 I stopped thinking any further as my thoughts went in circles.

 I have to get back to work.

 Yes, the incident report.

 I reread the report I’ve compiled so far by myself.

 In summary, a man dressed as a Kamen Rider entered the entrance from the sky. He then eliminates all the terrorists who are holed up in the building without using any weapons and frees the hostages. In addition, he also retrieved bombs planted inside and outside the building and delivered them to the police. That’s what happened.

 The sheer stupidity of the report is appalling considering that I made it myself.

 If one of my subordinates submitted such a report, I would recommend him to change jobs or to go to the hospital without a second thought.

 But now, I have to make the report and submit it to my boss.

 Moreover, these reports will be used for court documents.

 What should I do?

 It would be better if the cosplayer were to hand these reports to my boss himself.

 I hate the cosplay guy who brought this situation about, even though I know it’s not fair to him.

 I’m going to expose the real identity of that cosplayer.

 I swore with all the anger I could muster.


Translator’s Note :

I actually already completed translating this chapter yesterday. But at the time I wanted to start editing it, my procrastinator side showed itself.

23 thoughts on “Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 17

  1. Thanks for the chapter

    “Quotes”
    Naturally, I’m not a great detective, and I don’t have any acquaintances who are the grandchildren of great detectives that always get involved in murder cases like some kind of jinx
    “Unquoted”
    Probably refers to Hajime Kindaichi of Kindaichi Shounen no Jikenbo 😁😁😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, rather than the reference, what I mean by “I’m not sure” is, I’m not sure that I’m using the word Jinx correctly in that sentence, because at the time I’m translating this chapter is the first time I know the meaning of that word.

      Like

  2. I feel bad for the policemen when they need to report to their superiors. Also, someone please save that boy before he walk into the wrong path because of that DT Onii-san

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thx for the chap!
    Well, nice that this has ended ok, but it was an pretty stupid way to deal with it, he has tons of powers, beside stealth, which he hasn’t, that could be used better to avoid get seem and to spread a super existence of getting known

    But, that’s a normal problem in this kind of stories, how to create situations where even with powers it’s difficult to handle
    I hope the author gets more creative on his ways
    Even so, I’m enjoying it so far now
    Thx again for translating

    Like

  4. Thanks for the Chapter. Poor kid gonna grow up a Dotei-kun. Detective-san develops an unfounded anger towards a concerned citizen just trying to help out simply because they are grounded too much on reality that they can understand, to the point that their brains cant be flexible and handle unbelievable things haha.

    I kid you not, if something sci fi or supernatural event happens, geeks and nerds will be the first to accept that as a reality.

    “If you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable must be the truth”

    I do hope he gets to use more cosplay stuff on his misadventures lol. As a cosplayer myself this is a rather entertaining representation of the fandom

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That reminds me of Skyrim guards, you slay a dragon that’s trying to eat all existence and they’re more worried about you entering a building without permission or snatching a sweetroll… Have some leniency!

    Like

    1. Or try to arrest you because you accidentally kill a chicken when you are fighting the dragon…
      No wonder someone shot an arrow at them to the knee….

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Can somebody just shot an arrow or something to that gua…. I mean police officer? And don’t forget to aim for the knee….

    Like

  7. Hmm , I like how the Police officer Use Logic and thinking in Objective view , But… in this kind of job you need a little bit of imagination and an open mind , or you will miss the big picture.

    Like certain Cops of certain Countri.

    Like

  8. “Naturally, I’m not a great detective, and I don’t have any acquaintances who are the grandchildren of great detectives that always get involved in murder cases like some kind of jinx. (TL : Not sure about this part)”

    —- it’s a detective conan and kindaichi reference

    great detective refers to Kogoro Mouri (he’s an ex police officer btw so it sort of adds up)

    while the “I don’t have any acquaintances who are the grandchildren of great detectives” part is pertaining to Isamu Kenmochi

    the jinx part is always them(of course them with the mc’s conan and kindaichi) being in the middle of murder cases, to the point the police isn’t really surprised if something happens whenever they go out of their houses(it’s a running gag in detective conan, don’t remember correctly if it’s the same with kindaichi)

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started