Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 37

Chapter 37 Revisiting The Hero 4

 Let’s turn back the time a bit.

 The day after I told everyone at my home that I was going to the other world again, the four of us (me, Akane, Leiria, and Tia ) went to the usual summoning place with transfer magic and immediately decided to perform the repatriation and send Leiria back.

 At first I planned to use “Kagerou,” to go to the other world as I didn’t expect to get Leiria’s cooperation, but she said, “If you’re not here, there’s no point in me staying in this world. If you’re going to return anyway, you might as well go with me. There are too many of us, and I’m not sure if Kagerou is up to the task,” so I decided to take her word for it.

“Well, we’re going to get started, so please hold on to Leiria’s body.”

 I said to Akane and Tia as I positioned my body on Leiria’s paws, who had returned to her original black dragon form.

 The two of them immediately obeyed and clung to the scales on Leiria’s body with their hands.

 I deploy the magic circle of repatriation after confirming this.

 We, Leiria included, were enveloped by light, and after a moment of slight floating sensation, the light that had covered us disappeared and we found ourselves in a cave with bare rock surfaces.

 This place definitely looks familiar.

 This must be the cave where Leiria lived.

 This is the second time I’ve been here. It’s already been two years since I came to this place to fight against Leiria as a trial to get her to cooperate with us. That was nostalgic. …… No, I thought I was going to die. …… So, traumatic?

“Fumu. Looks like we made it back safely.”

 I came back to my senses when I heard Leiria’s words.

 After looking around, I can also see that we were able to safely bring Akane and Tia here.

“So, what are you going to do now?”

“For now, we still do not know the current situation, after all. So, I’m thinking of going to the Royal Capital of the Arianas’s Kingdom.”

 The question is, how are we going to get there?

 In fact, I haven’t set up any transfer magic points in the capital. When I was in the capital, I still couldn’t use transfer magic after all.

 The only way to get there is to transfer to the closest place to the capital, where I’ve set a transfer point and then move on from there.

“Then we can just transfer to the vicinity of the Royal Capital and then ride me all the way to the Royal Castle.”

 Leiria made a delightful suggestion. But is that okay?

“I appreciate it, but is it okay? This time, it’s a war between people you know. I thought you said that the Dragon Race doesn’t get involved in conflicts between people.”

“What are you talking about? I am only assisting My Lord, whom I have a contract with. It may result in me routing a human army, but it won’t be a problem.”

 Leiria said while laughing weirdly.

 No, as I said, it’s scary when you laugh while in the black dragon form.

“Thank you. To be honest, it helps a lot.”

 Leiria turned away as if embarrassed and urged us to get on her back when I bowed with an earnest face.

 Leiria used her transfer magic after making sure that everyone was riding on her back.

 The scenery in front of us changed immediately, and we were transferred to the top of a small hill surrounded by wheat fields. A few kilometers ahead, we could see the cityscape of the royal capital, which I had seen so many times, and beyond that, the spires of the royal castle.

 As expected, Tia was unconcerned as she had experienced it many times before, but Akane’s eyes were wide open at the sight of the sudden change, and she was squeezing my clothes tightly, probably out of anxiety.

 I gave Akane a few pats on the back and smiled to reassure her.

“Now, hold on tight. We’re going to fly.”

 Leiria spread her wings and soared into the air immediately after saying that.

 Though I said that, dragons do not fly by flapping their wings like birds do, so there is no large shaking.

 Good grief, I don’t know what kind of principle they’re using to fly. Do they completely ignore flight mechanics? (TL: not sure about the last part)

 Although we felt a slight floating sensation, the barrier of wind magic around us prevented us from being blown away by the wind.

 When I looked at the royal capital from above, I could see many people queuing up at the eastern gate with wagons, carts, or large loads on their backs.

 They were probably people evacuating to escape the fires of war.

 I couldn’t see their expressions as expected, but I could easily imagine that they were fleeing with a sense of anxiety.

 Shortly after, the training ground inside the royal castle comes into view. Leiria were probably planning to land there.

 Even so, the royal capital is supposed to be warded to prevent transfers and entry from the sky, but Leiria just flies in without a care in the world.

 Perhaps she is using some method to nullify the warding, but is that a good idea? Just like that: ……

 Leiria lands on the training ground while I’m thinking about that.

 It’s quite a soft landing, probably because Akane is riding on her back.

 Normally, she lands with more force.

 I jump down while holding Akane in my arms.

“Kyah!”

 Akane clung to me while making a rather cute scream.

 The posture? It’s a princess carry, but what is it?

 I set Akane down as soon as I landed.

 Akane’s face was red when I looked at her. I’m as well …… yeah, it’s embarrassing when I try to look calm.

 Leiria immediately changes from a black dragon to a human form.

 And then, from the exit of the training grounds, about ten guards jumped in while looking flustered.

 They looked alarmed, but they released their tension when they saw Leiria.

 Then they froze as they looked at me.

“He, Hero-dono?”

 They all looked at me in a daze.

 Well, it’s understandable. After all, “I” that was supposed to have returned to the other world suddenly appeared.

“I want an audience with His Majesty the King. Could you please inform him?”

 Waiting around like this was not going to get me anywhere, so I called out to the closest guard.

“Ha? Ah! Ye, yes! I’ll tell him right away, please wait a moment!”

 After giving some instructions to another soldier beside him, that soldier ran out of the training ground.

 After watching that, the guard I had called out in the beginning turned to me and said, 

“Please come to the waiting room. I’ll lead you there.”

 He started walking ahead of us after saying that.

 We all followed suit.

 We were led to a waiting room a little before the audience hall in the royal castle, where we sat on a sofa randomly and waited for our call.

 Incidentally, we were silent from beginning to end while being guided.

 The soldier glanced at me, but didn’t ask any questions.

 Well, I can imagine what he wanted to ask though.

 Less than five minutes after we started waiting in the room, I heard a knock on the door, and the door was violently opened before I could answer it.

“Yuya-san!”

 Melsuria jumped in while shouting that. She is the first princess of the Arianas Kingdom, a person who is called a saintess, and a companion who has traveled with me and the others from beginning to end.

 Tears began to well up in her eyes as she stared at my face, and then she jumped into my chest.

“It’s really you, isn’t it, Yuya-san? It’s not a dream, is it?”

“Ah, yeah, Mel. Long time no see. ……”

 Mel puts her hands around my back and hugs me tightly.

 No, well, as a man, I’m in a very exciting situation, but Akane’s murderous gaze has been zapping into my back since a while ago.

 I put my hand on Mel’s shoulder and pulled our bodies apart.

 …… What a waste ……

 The pressure stabbing at my back increased even more when I thought about that.

 How does she know what I’m thinking?

“Your Highness. You have become quite bold, haven’t you? But I think you should look around a bit.”

 I don’t know when she came, but Ellis-san pointed that out with an indifferent tone from behind Mel.

 In addition to this, Mel’s face turned red as she hurriedly distanced herself from me.

“Ellis-san too. It has been a while.”

“Yes. It has been a while. I never thought I would be able to see you again. And, I can expect some affection from you this time, can’t I? Ah, I’m fine even if I’m after her Highness Melsuria, of course.”

 You are saying that right now?

“W, well then, let me introduce you. This is Akane, my friend from my original world.”

 I hurriedly introduced Akane so that the situation wouldn’t get any worse.

“Ni, Nice to meet you. My name is Kudo Akane. I’ve heard a little bit about you from Yuuya. Please take care of me.”

“So you’re Akane-san. I apologize for the delay in greeting you. I’m Melsuria Murdo Arianas. Please call me Mel, just like Yuya-san.”

 Incidentally, the conversation we just had was in the common language of the Wilterius continent.

 I had completely forgotten about it, but it seems that Leiria had cast a spell on Akane to help her understand the language. As expected.

“Um, so, Yuya-san…”

 The door was knocked again just as Mel was about to say something, and we were informed that we were ready to have an audience with His Majesty the King.

“Le, let’s leave the conversation for later, I’ll take the lead, let’s go to the audience hall.”

 Mel led us to the audience hall. Though it’s only for a short while, because it’s just around the corner.

 There are two guards standing on either side of the door to the audience hall, and when Mel nodded, he raised his voice.

“The hero-dono has arrived!”

 The door was opened a moment later, and Mel entered first, followed by me, Akane, Tia, Leiria, and finally Ellis-san.

 The door was immediately closed, but I proceeded to the center of the room and got down on one knee.

 Akane saw this and hurriedly kneeled down as well, but since that was a man’s manner, Tia whispered the manner to her and got down on both knees.

 Leiria stood there without doing anything in particular. Well, she’s a black dragon. There is no need for her to worry about the country’s authority.

 In front of us is a mature man dressed in a magnificent attire. He is Arius Ledes Arianas. The king of Arianas Kingdom.

 After His Majesty waited for Mel to take her place next to him,

“No need to bow.  It has been a long time, or not. I never thought I’d ever be able to see you again. I am glad to see that you are in good health.”

“I am truly sorry for the sudden visit.  I thank you for granting me an audience.”

 I can’t get used to this way of speaking, no matter how many times I try. No, I don’t have a problem with normal honorifics either; you know? It’s just, I don’t have any chance to use humble language in my daily life in Japan.

 Next to His Majesty the King, on the opposite side of Mel, is Her Majesty the Queen. There were also several other people here, people I hadn’t spoken to much, but who could be called the leading figures of this country, standing on either side.

 I could see that both the King and the officials were showing signs of fatigue on their faces.

 The Empire has suddenly invaded after all, so it’s not surprising.

“There is no door that is closed if it’s for you. So, can you tell me the reason for this visit?”

 His majesty’s eyes were tinged with expectation as he said that.

 Of course, I have no intention of letting his expectations down at this point in time.

 I’d like to play a joke, but I’m a Japanese who can read the air.

“Well, I came because I heard from Tia there was an idiot who thought something stupid and acted stupidly, so I figured a little punishment was in order.”

“Hou.”

“I would like to participate in this war against the Empire.”

 Ooooooo!

 The surrounding officials of the country and even the guards at the door screamed with joy.

 Several of the officials were smiling with tears in their eyes.

 Hmmm. I don’t mean to put it this way, but it’s a little creepy.

“I see. I’m grateful that you’re joining us. Then…”

“Please wait!”

 A shout interrupted the king’s words.

 Good grief, it’s that guy again, huh?

“With all due respect, Your Majesty, the current war is a battle for the fate of this country. Let’s say that his assistance in the previous battle against the evil gods was unavoidable because of the oracle from Valienis-sama. This time, however, that is not the case. I think it would be foolish to entrust it to someone from another world.”

 The one who raised his voice was Sir Bellius, the interior minister.

 He is the second most important official in the country after the Prime Minister and is highly trusted by his Majesty. He is not a person who is particularly like scheming, but he is a man who is always complaining about anything to do with me.

 As a nobleman, he is both honest and firm. He is a man who will not accept any kind of bribe, and in fact, he once detained a nobleman who tried to bribe him and put him on trial on the spot.

 But he is not only strait-laced, he also invests his personal fortune to build and support institutions for those who have been attacked by demons or orphaned by war.

 He’s the kind of person I’d like to have in my country. However, he and I definitely don’t get along.

 Apparently, he can’t accept that I, a person from another world, am involved in the important issues of the country. He said that “the country’s affairs should be handled by the people of the country.”

 That’s why he’s been very harsh with me from the beginning, and as expected, I’m not a good enough person to be friendly with someone with that attitude.

 That’ s why we end up clashing whenever we see each other.

 However, I’ve never been harmed directly or indirectly, and he’s never interfered with anything that His Majesty the King has decided. He is by no means a bad person.

 Well, I guess that means it’s just a fantasy that the hero and the good guy will always have a good relationship.

 No matter how you look at it, there are always good people who don’t get along with each other, and there are also people who are good with each other, even if they are bad people in the eyes of the society.

 . …… But something doesn’t feel right compared to when I’ve previously met him: ……

“You’re still as stubborn as ever. Bellius. I can understand where you’re coming from, but as you said, the fate of our nation is at stake. If this continues, the sacrifice will be great. Not to mention the fact that this time, the hero-dono is the one who came here voluntarily.”

 His Majesty intercedes with a slightly bitter smile.

“But… ……”

“Now now your excellency, Interior Minister. Please calm down a little.”

 Ellis-san who should have been standing behind Mel, at some point already standing behind Sir Bellius with her hand on his shoulder to pacify(?) him.

 Or rather, is it okay for the royal court maid like Ellis-san, to act like that?

“Wha?! M, miss Barkley?”

“My? There’s something in your hair, sir.”

 She pulled the old man Bellius’s hair while saying that.

 Suru……Basa……

 Time stood still.

 Well, what a beautifully smooth bald head.

 A halo of light seems to be shining on it. Well, it’s just a reflection of the light coming in from outside though.

“As expected of His Excellency, Interior Minister. To think that you’ve become proficient in light magic before we even know it.”

“Bufo.”

 I can hear the sound of my words blowing out unintentionally.

 His Majesty the King is holding his mouth and gazing in the other direction when I look at him.

 The queen was looking over her shoulder. Her shoulders are shaking, though.

 Mel is holding her hands to her temples as if she’s trying to hold back a headache.

 Then, The Ellis-san in question……was just standing behind Mel with an expressionless face, as if nothing had happened. ……What a terrific person.

“Wha! W,w,w,wha.”

 The old man Bellius is trembling with a red face.

 I see, I thought there was something off, so it was a wig.

 ……Now that I think about it, when I left the royal capital more than two years ago, I was so annoyed with his constant sarcasm that I cast a dark magic spell “Every ten steps, one hair falls out of your head.” that I had just mastered.

 The old man looked at me with a fierce glare.

 No, I wasn’t the one who took off your wig, am I? The reason he’s bald is probably because of my magic, but I’m sure he doesn’t know that, right?

“humph!  I’m not going to reward you even if you accomplish any military feats you hear!”

 He left the audience room as quickly as he could after saying that. I can’t help but feel that the wig that fell on the floor was giving off a certain melancholy.

 By the way, where should I send this lost item to?


 His Majesty the King begins to speak again, as though to regain control of the delicate atmosphere.

“At present, my country, the Imperial State of Ilvenia, the Eastern City States Union, and a volunteer army of adventurers and mercenaries are all allied together, and should be forming an encampment at the eastern edge of the plains that stretch east of Fristel. There have been no reports of battle breaking out yet, but it should be happening in the next few days at the latest. If you have no objections, I would like you to join them there.”

 After saying that, His Majesty looked at the Minister of Military Affairs, who was in charge of organizing the army among the officials in attendance, and the Minister of Military Affairs nodded.

 Her Majesty the Queen is still looking back while twitching. We’re having a serious conversation here, so please get yourself together.

“Understood. Me, Leiria, and Tia will join them.”

 I answered, while trying not to worry about it.

“I appreciate it. If you have any requests, I’ll do my best to accommodate them.”

“Well then, I’ll take you up on your offer, there’s one thing I’d like to ask you.”

 I looked at Akane, who was on her knees, while watching the exchange absentmindedly as I said that.

“I’m sorry for the late introduction, but the person present here is a friend of mine from my hometown, Akane Kudou. I would like to request from you to allow this person to stay in this royal castle while I am away.”

 Akane hurriedly bowed her head as I introduced and urged her to do the same.

“My name is Akane. It’s nice to meet you.”

“Hmm. So you are a fellow countryman of the Hero-dono. I welcome you. You may freely use this royal castle as if it were your home. Of course, I will guarantee Akane-dono’s personal safety with the honor of the kingdom on the line.”

 He agreed while smiling at Akane.

“Then I will spend some time together with Akane-sama. Please tell us many stories about Yuya-san and the other world.”

 Mel said as she smiled at Akane.

“Please take care of me.”

“I was the one who will take care of your personal care, so please do not hesitate to ask me anything.”

 Even Ellis-san says so. But I have to give a little warning if it comes to her.

“Ellis-san. I beg you, please don’t tell Akane anything strange.”

“Strange things, is it? Even though I only ever speak the truth.”

 That’s the most untrustworthy thing of all, I tell you!

 Now, well, I guess we’d better get moving.

“Well then, I’m going, Akane. This is not Japan. If you want to do something, please tell Mel or Ellis-san first. I’ll clean up this mess and return as soon as I can. Though I feel bad for making you stay in a place where you don’t know anyone.”

 I reminded Akane as I looked into her eyes.

“I understand. Yuuya too, be careful! I’ll be waiting for you.”

 Akane responded with  an earnest expression.

“Mel. I’m sorry, but please take care of Akane.”

“Yes. Please leave it to me. It’s going to be fine. It’s just maybe but, I think I can get along with Akane-sama.”

 Despite Mel’s words, I don’t really understand how women get along with each other.

 Let’s just pray that nothing bad happens.

 I once again turned to face His Majesty the King.

 The queen seemed to have recovered and was looking at me with her usual kind expression.

“I’ll be leaving soon then. I will do my best to bring you good news within the next few days.”

“I’d like to thank you again for what you did last time and for what you will do this time. As for yourself, please don’t overdo it. I will wait for good news.”

“I would like to thank you as well. However, please do not overdo it, and I will be waiting for your safe return.”

 I bowed respectfully to the words of their Majesties, the King and Queen, and left the audience hall with Leiria and Tia.

 Now then, let’s go out with a bang.

 That reminds me, Leiria and Tia haven’t said a word this time. ……

10 thoughts on “Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 37

  1. Good I hate Akane she’s the worst seriously if you don’t got the balls to confess then don’t get in the way of his and others happiness, also why does he feel sorry he had to leave her there she forced him to take her to a dangerous situation

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started