Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 29

Chapter 29 The Hero’s Detective Story 2

 The next day, early in the afternoon, I ride my bike to the park about 30 minutes from the university.

 Today is another begrudgingly sunny and really fucking hot day.

 Naturally, I don’t have the hobby of enjoying a natural sauna, and the reason I came here was to meet someone.

 As you may have guessed, I’m meeting up with Shishido.

 I’ve been gathering information and thinking about various things since yesterday’s conversation. At the end of the day, I’m not going to get anywhere without speaking to the person in question, so I decided to contact Shishido and meet him.

 I’m not that close with him, so he was a bit skeptical when he received a contact from me, but I forcefully set the appointment.

 I thought back to yesterday’s conversation I had with Akio-senpai, who I called to get some information while I was waiting.

“Event Circle? Hmm, I haven’t heard anything good lately. It’s not just that some 3rd years have become overbearing like Kashiwagi-kun heard, it’s that they’ve been roughing up a group of girls by making them drink alcohol, or that they’re videotaping and threatening them, or that they’re selling dangerous drugs. It’s not that widespread yet, but there are some girls who have quit from college, so it seems to be a pretty credible sounding rumor. I don’t recommend getting too involved, but Kashiwagi-kun, by any chance, are you going to get yourself involved into another trouble again?”

“I don’t intend to, you know.”

 Although I responded that way to Akio-senpai, I was already intent on plunging my head into it.

 Nevertheless, as expected of a self-proclaimed expert informant, he taught me things that the other people didn’t know.

 After all, because of his easygoing and friendly personality, Akio-senpai has many acquaintances.

 It seemed the appointment time had come while I was thinking about that.

 I could see Shishido coming from the entrance of the park.

 As expected of a diligent guy like him. He’s right on time.

“Yo! It’s been a while, isn’t it?”

“Kashiwagi. Long time no see. It’s rare for you to contact me. What is going on?”

“Sorry about that. Have you been busy?”

“No problem. What do you want?”

 I can see the wariness in Shishido’s expression.

 Well, it’s only natural when you’re contacted by someone you’re not that close to.

 Since it is impossible for me to pull off detailed tactics or trickery to begin with, so I’ll just go with the straightforward approach.

“I was just curious after hearing the story from Mizukami. It’s about the event circle, you see. And there are some strange rumors going around, too.”

“W, what story are you talking about?”

“Mizukami was worried, too. So what’s going on?”

 I ask decisively and without hesitation.

“There is nothing wrong. I just had a little argument with Yoko the other day.”

 So, you’re not going to mention anything about the rumors.

“Do not play dumb. I’m not here to hear about the content of your lover’s quarrel.”

“It’s none of your business!”

 Shishido’s attitude here was stubborn.

 There is no point in questioning him. Should I pull the card?

“There’s no way it’s not my business, is there? These things are scattered all over the university.”

 I said and took out the bag of drugs I was keeping from Mizukami and shook it in front of Shishido’s eyes.

“! ! !”

 Shishido’s face twitches.

“‘Heaven’s Door’ is quite a silly name, isn’t it? The main ingredient is Methylenedioxymethamphetamine, which is used in MDMA, and Tryptamine, this is what they’re calling dangerous drugs these days. Is this stuff the so-called stimulant or something like that? As far as I’m concerned, either way, this isn’t a good thing.”

“You, why do you have that ……”

“Mizukami saw you receiving these from a senior and got worried. Don’t worry, she doesn’t think it’s narcotics because I’m lying about the contents.”

“What makes you think it’s a narcotic?”

“I have many sources of information, you know. I figured it out pretty quick once I started analyzing.”

 That’s a lie. It’s thanks to “Appraisal” and Google sensei.

“…………”

“There are also the rumors. I can’t just leave it at that, can I?”

“…………”

“I didn’t mean to blame you or anything. So, tell me.”

 Shishido must be quite conflicted internally.

 He seemed to be thinking about something with a troubled expression on his face.

 I wait for Shishido to speak without saying anything more.

 Finally Shishido opened his mouth after a few minutes of waiting, while bombarded by the chirp of cicadas, which doubled the heat, 

“…… Okay.”

 This is the story that Shishido shared with me.

 After the current 4th year, the 3rd year at the time, retired from the club this year, four of the older guys suddenly planned to organize a dance party. Apparently, this kind of event caused a stir at a famous private university more than a decade ago, and the planning itself was considered taboo in the circle, but these seniors tried to force their way through, and they got into quite a bit of trouble with the other seniors.

 I heard that many people opposed it at the time and it just went away. However, a female senior who was the main opposition leader suddenly quit the university. I heard that there was no direct contact to the club and only a notice of resignation was received.

 After that, the seniors became very high-handed and started to plan blind dates and dance parties.

 And from April, they pushed ‘Heaven’s Door’ on some juniors and forced them to sell it.

 The rumor in question is also true. They forced girls who came to the party or dance party, or girls who were rebellious circle members, to drink or take drugs and rape them, and filmed the rape to keep them quiet.

 I exhale hard to calm myself down.

 The mere mention of it is so disgusting I feel like I’m throwing up.

“So? you just silently obeyed after seeing that?”

 Although I didn’t mean to blame him, I couldn’t help but speak in a judgmental tone.

“I, I can’t help it, can I? They threatened to target Yoko if I disobeyed!”

“I see. ……”

 I certainly know what it feels like.

 The blackmailer will not be satisfied even if their demands are met. They will just increase the demand endlessly until either side is destroyed. That’s why international common sense demands that we should not negotiate with terrorists and other similar blackmailers.

 However, even if you are aware of this in your head, if you are threatened, and you are prepared to confront them yourself, you may give in if someone close to you is the target.

 It’s not something that others can talk about irresponsibly.

 No matter how stupid it may seem.

“I understand the reason. So how many people have you sold the drugs to?”

 If there are too many of them, it could get pretty troublesome.

“I didn’t sell them to anyone. I even took back the ones given to other members and flushed them down the toilet.”

 Seriously?

“Is it okay for you to do that?”

“I have money from my savings and part-time job, so they didn’t find out. I don’t even know how much the seniors sold directly to me. As a matter of fact, they forced me to drink it once. So they made me look like an accomplice.”

 What a serious guy, so much that he earned my respect. Not just his share, but the others as well.

“Honestly, I was almost at the end of my rope. They were giving it more to me with each passing month, and my savings were running out. It’s not long before I can’t afford to do so anymore. That’s why I wanted to get Yoko away from the circle before that.”

“I see.”

 This guy was desperate, too, wasn’t he?

 The rest of what I need are the details of those seniors. There’s nothing I can do without at least knowing their names and faces.

 Having thought that, I was about to ask more questions when my phone alerted me to an incoming call.

 The caller is …… Akane?

 I answer the phone without saying a word to Shishido.

“Akane? what’s up?”

“Yuya? I’m sorry. Today, Yoko and Nacchan came with me to the department store in front of the station to do some shopping, but Yoko was called up by her circle member earlier and we broke up.”

“! What?!”

“The person who called her seemed to be a girl, and she said it was about the festival in the shopping district and also that Shishido-kun was here too.  But there’s something about yesterday’s conversation that really bothered me.”

“If it’s Shishido, he is in front of me right now.”

“! T, that means!”

“Where was the place she was called out to?”

“Um, I don’t know the exact location, but she said it’s a 15-minute walk from ○○ station.”

“I’m on my way! Akane, call Mizukami and have her head back! If it doesn’t connect, look for the direction where she is headed. But don’t ever try to do the impossible.”

“Okay.”

 I hang up the phone and face Shishido.

“Was that Kudo-san? What’s wrong with Yoko?”

 Shishido, who must have overheard the conversation, asks me impatiently.

“I’ve been told that Mizukami was called out using your name. Near ○○ station. Do you have any idea where the location of those seniors is?”

“! No way! …… Most likely, it’s the bar in the multi-tenant building north of the shopping district.”

“All right!”

 As soon as I finish, I start running towards my bike.

 But then Shishido comes chasing after me.

“Please take me with you!  I’ve been there once before!”

 I was hoping to go a little farther away and put the bike away in the item box and then use ‘Flying Magic’ to get there. But surely I might be able to find the place faster if I knew the exact location.

 I pulled out a spare helmet from the item box and threw it to Shishido as I thought about that while I inserted the key into the bike.

“Eh? J, just now, from where do you take this out?

“There’ s no time for chitchat. I’m gonna leave you behind if you don’t hurry.”

 It takes almost 30 minutes from here to station A by bike at this time of day.  There is no time.

 Shishido hurriedly puts on his helmet and rides behind me as I start the engine.

 I go out to the roadway and immediately accelerate.

 I’ll let myself exceed the speed limit just this one time.

 I hurry ahead, slipping by the side of a running car and turning left after crossing through the parking lot of a convenience store.

 When I stop at a traffic light, my phone alerts me to another incoming call.

 I hand the phone to Shishido and let him answer it.

“Kudo-san says she can’t get a hold of Yoko. She said she’ll be out of town soon. She said she’s searched the area, but there’s no sign of her.”

“I Understand! Tell Akane and the others to go home!”

 I said this to Shishido as I started the bike and sped up even further.


Translator’s Note:

I didn’t expect to be able to translate until this far. I’ve tried translating another web novel in the past, but always lost motivation halfway through the first chapter.

Let’s hope I’ll be able to finish this series.

16 thoughts on “Kikanshita Yuusha no Gojitsudan : Chapter 29

  1. Why is so much trouble following the MC??? Seriously… way too many incidents… and his family members being in danger way too many times…

    Sure, we know these kind of incidents happen all the time… but it’s just a few people…. the likelihood of getting into this kind of trouble just once would be rare….

    It’s just bad writing if you over rely on people trying to kill/rape the MC’s loved ones….

    He lives in the modern world and is trying to live an ordinary life… and yet way too much trouble just comes his way… -_-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think rather than trouble following the MC, it’s more like the MC that likes to get involved in a trouble that his friend/acquaintances facing.

      and don’t forget in this story there’s quite a lot of time skip after each arc.

      also so far other than the beach incident, there’s no other problem that directly targeting MC’s Loved ones.

      Like

      1. Yes, his loved ones get involved in trouble… but it’s way too often.

        At his work place, at the beach, the car incident, back when the girls were just shopping, jerks coming when he brought the dragon, the terrorist incident and now this.

        7 times already (and I might be missing something). Why is someone facing trouble 7 times???

        He’s facing way too much drama/trouble…. and it’s only been 29 chapters….

        Even if there was a time skip, it wouldn’t be long enough to have this many problems…

        The MC is facing way too much trouble in the modern world…. to an unrealistic degree that feels way too forced.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. good thing I’m not only one feeling this

      some troubles can be solved if you just entrusted it to the police but I guess they’re not trustworthy enough

      Like

  2. Ah, so we have reached the detective arc. The ending of this arc should be very interesting. Looking forward to reading it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started